Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

"Women" by Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | As part of the contemporary dance festival “Tanz im August” (Dance in August), “Women,” the latest performance by Sasha Waltz & Guests, premieres on August 30, 2017, at 8 p.m., at St. Elisabeth Church. On this night, and the three following nights, until September 2, twenty female dancers engage in rituals of femininity and explore the feminine body images associated with them.

Sasha Waltz: Women, Photo: Bernd Uhlig

What happens when women come together and form alliances? And how can our knowledge of the past inform the development of new feminist movements which move beyond a battle of the sexes? Inspired in part by Judy Chicago’s iconic work “The Dinner Party” (1979, Brooklyn Museum, New York), the Berlin-based choreographer Sasha Waltz is working for the first time with an all-woman ensemble. In Karl Friedrich Schinkel’s St. Elisabeth Church, the live performance interacts with one of Berlin’s architectural icons, as do the dancers with the audience to create an immersive experience of space.

Sasha Waltz & Guests’ “Women” is a choreographic experiment, which not only elevates the dance above the central perspective of the classical theater space and thus makes the audience experience it in new ways; it also explores socially relevant topics – which is why the Schering Stiftung supports the project.

“Women” by Sasha Waltz

Premiere: August 30, 2017, 8 p.m.

Further performances:
August 31, 2017, 8 p.m.
September 1 and 2, 2017, 9 p.m.

Tanz im August – 29. International Festival Berlin
presented by HAU Hebbel am Ufer

St. Elisabeth-Kirche
Invalidenstr. 3 | 10115 Berlin

Tickets are available at Tanz im August or call + 49 30 259 004 27

Direction/Choreography: Sasha Waltz
Light: Martin Hauk
Music: Soundwalk Collective
Dance/Performance: Liza Alpízar Aguilar, Claudia Catarzi, Maria Marta Colusi, Clémentine Deluy, Lisa Densem, Hwanhee Hwang, Lorena Justribó Manion, Florencia Lamarca, Maureen Lopez Lembo, Annapaola Leso, Margaux Marielle-Trehoüart, Thusnelda Mercy, Michal Mualem, Sasa Queliz, Zaratiana Randrianantenaina, Yael Schnell, Claudia de Serpa Soares, Wibke Storkan, Takako Suzuki, Charlotte Zerbey

A production of Sasha Waltz & Guests in cooperation with Kultur Büro Elisabeth presented by Tanz im August – 29. Internationales Festival Berlin. The shows are supported by the Schering Stiftung. Sasha Waltz & Guests is funded by the Berlin Senate for Culture and Europe and the Hauptstadtkulturfonds.

Photo: © Bernd Uhlig


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale

 

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30. August 2017, 20 Uhr, ihre neueste Performance „Women“ uraufführen. An diesem sowie den drei darauffolgenden Abenden bis zum 2. September exerzieren zwanzig Tänzerinnen der Kompanie in der St. Elisabeth-Kirche Rituale von Weiblichkeit und erforschen feminine Körperbilder.

Sasha Waltz: Women, Foto: Bernd Uhlig

Was entsteht, wenn sich Frauen verbinden und verbünden? Und wie können mit dem Wissen der Vergangenheit neue feministische Bewegungen entstehen, die einen Geschlechterkampf hinter sich lassen? Unter anderem inspiriert von Judy Chicagos ikonischer Arbeit „The Dinner Party“ (1979, Brooklyn Museum, New York) arbeitet die Berliner Choreographin Sasha Waltz erstmals mit einem reinen Frauenensemble. In Karl Friedrich Schinkels St. Elisabeth-Kirche verbindet sich die Live-Performance mit einer Architektur-Ikone der Stadt und die Tänzerinnen mit dem Publikum in einem immersiven Raumerlebnis.

Mit „Women“ präsentieren Sasha Waltz & Guests ein choreographisches Experiment, das nicht nur den Tanz der Zentral-Perspektive des klassischen Theaterraums enthebt und neu erlebbar macht, sondern auch gesellschaftlich relevante Themen bearbeitet, weshalb die Schering Stiftung das Projekt unterstützt.

„Women“ von Sasha Waltz

Uraufführung: 30. August 2017, 20 Uhr

Weitere Aufführungen:
31. August 2017, 20 Uhr
1. + 2. September 2017, jeweils 21 Uhr

Tanz im August – 29. Internationales Festival Berlin
präsentiert von HAU Hebbel am Ufer

St. Elisabeth-Kirche
Invalidenstr. 3 | 10115 Berlin

Tickets über Tanz im August oder Tel. + 49 30 259 004 27

Regie/Choreographie: Sasha Waltz
Licht: Martin Hauk
Musik: Soundwalk Collective
Tanz/Performance: Liza Alpízar Aguilar, Claudia Catarzi, Maria Marta Colusi, Clémentine Deluy, Lisa Densem, Hwanhee Hwang, Lorena Justribó Manion, Florencia Lamarca, Maureen Lopez Lembo, Annapaola Leso, Margaux Marielle-Trehoüart, Thusnelda Mercy, Michal Mualem, Sasa Queliz, Zaratiana Randrianantenaina, Yael Schnell, Claudia de Serpa Soares, Wibke Storkan, Takako Suzuki, Charlotte Zerbey

Eine Produktion von Sasha Waltz & Guests in Kooperation mit Kultur Büro Elisabeth präsentiert von Tanz im August – 29. Internationales Festival Berlin. Die Vorstellungen werden gefördert von der Schering Stiftung. Sasha Waltz & Guests wird gefördert aus Mitteln der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa und dem Hauptstadtkulturfonds.

Foto: © Bernd Uhlig

Aktuelles

Hybrid Encounters. Tomás Saraceno und Gäste

18.04.2018, Berlin | Die Hybrid Plattform und die Schering Stiftung haben mit den »Hybrid Encounters« eine...
mehr

Live-Debatte: Arm durch Wohnen? Wie Mieten bezahlbar bleiben

16.05.2018, Berlin/Braunschweig | Die Mieten in Deutschland steigen kontinuierlich: Seit 2010 zahlen Bundesbürger im Durchschnitt 30...
mehr

DOME – Unser Verhältnis zum Kosmos

25.04.2018, Berlin | Das interdisziplinäre Kunstprojekt DOME lädt vom 18.05. bis 01.07.2018 im Zeiss-Großplanetarium in Berlin-Prenzlauer...
mehr