SS_PP_190x190px2

 

The Debate – The Power of Opinion Polling

01.08.2017, Berlin | The political year 2017 is edging towards its climax: the federal elections on September 24. Who we vote for depends on a variety of factors, and predicting the results is much more difficult today than it was even a few years ago. Is opinion polling in crisis? Or is it more powerful than ever in influencing our voting decisions? These and other questions around the power of polls will be discussed as part of the platform “The Debate” at the Lecture Hall Ruin of the Charité Berlin on August 31, at 7 p.m.

csm_Logo_Die_Debatte_weiss

Live-Debate "The Power of Opinion Polling - Who Knows Whom We Are Voting?

Lecture Hall Ruin of the Charité Berlin
At the Berlin Museum of Medical History
Charitéplatz 1 | 10117 Berlin

August 31, 2017, at 7 p.m.
Doors open at 6:30 p.m.

Admission is free. Registration is not required.

Guests:
Dr. Nico Siegel, CEO of infratest dimap
Janina Mütze, Co-Foundaer of Civey
Thorsten Faas, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz

Moderators:
Christoph Koch (Stern) and Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim (ZDF/funk)

The event will be livestreamed at www.die-debatte.org

More information is available at Wissenschaft im Dialog and www.die-debatte.org.

The platform „The Debate”

Science crucially contributes to the development of our society. In the public perception, however, it not only represents progress but is often seen as a threat to human safety and security. The more science changes the conditions of life in ways that are tangible to everyone, the more it needs to engage in a constructive dialogue with society. To enable citizens to participate in this discussion, it takes a solid general education in the sciences and an understanding of scientific research.

The initiative Wissenschaft im Dialog (Science in Dialogue), the Science Media Center Germany, and the Technische Universität Braunschweig have launched the platform “The Debate.” It offers a space for discussing controversial science topics and scientific perspectives on socially relevant and much-debated topics. This takes place in the form of live debates, factual videos, multimedia information tools, and interviews.

The Ernst Schering Foundation is pleased to be able to support the platform “The Debate.”


News

Unboxing Photographs: Work in the Photo Archive

15.01.2018, Berlin | From February 16 through May 27, 2018, the National Museums in Berlin will...
more

Stellenausschreibung: Teamassistenz

05.01.2018, Berlin | Zur Erweiterung unseres Teams suchen wir zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt eine Teamassistenz (m/w), Teilzeit...
more

Who Is Talking? Research Orientation in Children’s and Youth Theater

02.01.2018, Berlin | An expert conference titled “Who Is Talking? Research Orientation in Children’s and Youth...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Die Debatte – Die Macht der Meinungsforschung

01.08.2017, Berlin | Das politische Jahr 2017 bewegt sich auf den Höhepunkt zu: Die Bundestagswahlen am 24. September. Wen wir wählen, hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren ab – das Ergebnis vorherzusagen ist heute ungleich schwerer als noch vor einigen Jahren. Steckt die Meinungsforschung in der Krise? Oder ist sie gar mächtiger als je zuvor und beeinflusst unsere Wahlentscheidung? Mit diesen und anderen Fragen rund um die Macht der Umfragemacher beschäftigt sich die Plattform „Die Debatte“ am 31. August 2017, um 19 Uhr, in der Hörsaal-Ruine der Charité Berlin.

csm_Logo_Die_Debatte_weiss

Live-Debatte
"Die Macht der Meinungsforschung - wer weiß, wen wir wählen?"

Hörsaal-Ruine der Charité
im Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museum
Charitéplatz 1 | 10117 Berlin

31. August 2017, um 19:00 Uhr
Einlass ab 18:30 Uhr

Der Eintritt ist frei. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Gäste:
Dr. Nico Siegel, Geschäftsführer von infratest dimap
Janina Mütze, Mitgründerin des Online-Umfrageinstituts Civey
Thorsten Faas, Professor für Politikwissenschaft an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz

Moderation:
Christoph Koch (Stern) und Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim (ZDF/funk)

Livestream der Veranstaltung unter www.die-debatte.org

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Website von Wissenschaft im Dialog und unter www.die-debatte.org.

Zur Plattform „Die Debatte“

Die Wissenschaft trägt wesentlich zur Entwicklung unserer Gesellschaft bei. Sie verkörpert in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung jedoch nicht nur den Fortschritt, sondern wird oft auch als Bedrohung der menschlichen Sicherheit empfunden. Je mehr die Wissenschaften individuell spürbar die Bedingungen des Lebens verändern, umso mehr sind sie auch aufgefordert, in einen konstruktiven Dialog mit der Gesellschaft einzutreten. Um die Bürger in die Lage zu versetzen, an dieser Diskussion aktiv teilzunehmen, bedarf es auch einer möglichst breiten wissenschaftlichen Grundbildung und eines Verständnisses wissenschaftlicher Forschung.

Die Initiative Wissenschaft im Dialog, das Science Media Center Germany und die Technische Universität Braunschweig haben deshalb die Plattform „Die Debatte“ ins Leben gerufen. Sie bietet Raum für die Diskussion kontroverser Themen aus der Wissenschaft und wissenschaftliche Perspektiven auf gesellschaftlich relevante und öffentlich viel diskutierte Themen. Dies geschieht in Form von Live-Debatten, Fact-Videos, multimedialen Info-Tools und Interviews.

Die Schering Stiftung freut sich, die Plattform „Die Debatte“ unterstützen zu können.


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Bewerbungsstart: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017, Berlin | Im April 2018 startet erneut das etablierte Führungskräftetraining Young Leaders in Science, das...
mehr