Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

FinsterHERZ oder Orfeo17

01.09.2017, Berlin | On September 30, 2017, at 8 p.m., the ARENA Waschhaus in Potsdam will host the premiere of an audio-visual composition that deals with the topic of border-crossing in all its facets. FinsterHERZ oder Orfeo17 (DarkHEART or Orpheo17) by Helmut Oehring oscillates between the familiar and the foreign, communication and speechlessness, early and contemporary music, spoken and sign language, musicians and the audience. The composer and his artistic team develop the staged musical production not only with the orchestra of the Kammerakademie Potsdam and internationally renowned vocal and instrumental soloists, but also with deaf refugees and exiled musicians from Syria, Afghanistan, Pakistan/Kashmir, and Iran.

Portrait Helmut Oehring, Credit: Oellermann

In FinsterHERZ oder Orfeo17, Helmut Oehring and his long-time artistic team – librettist and co-director Stefanie Wördemann and sound director Torsten Ottersberg – look for artistic-autobiographical encounters: between musicians of the Kammerakademie Potsdam and soloists in the field of contemporary music, jazz and Syrian avant-garde, as well as deaf refugees and musicians who seek asylum in Brandenburg; between Claudio Monteverdi’s opera L’Orfeo and Joseph Conrad’s novel Heart of Darkness, two “travelogues” – the former of a trip into the ancient realm of the dead, the latter of a voyage into the Belgian Congo/West Africa during the genocide of the indigenous population in the colonial period – yet at the same time timeless stories about home, identity, culture, ethics and language, traumatic voyages into the protagonists’ inner lives.

What emerges is a multi-layered, audio-visual dialogue: Through changing narrative perspectives, Oehring and his artistic team, in an open process between composition and realization, look for multilingual encounters between the musicians and the deaf refugees and exiled musicians, poetry and documentation, sound and silence, memories of flight and lives in exile – aiming at the heart of our society.

Born in East Berlin, the Brandenburg-based composer, guitarist, author and director Helmut Oehring has for three decades combined poetic and documentary-political contents. His multi-awarded works blend instrumental-voice theater and staged concert. Born to deaf parents, he takes as his subject the limits of human communication, the possibilities and impossibilities in and outside of language.

FinsterHERZ oder Orfeo17

Premiere: September 30, 2017, 8 p.m.

Additional performances:
October 1, 2017, 11 a.m.
October 3, 2017, 6 p.m.

ARENA Waschhaus
Schiffbauergasse 6, 14467 Potsdam

Staged concert based on Claudio Monteverdi’s opera L’Orfeo
and Heart of Darkness, a tale by Joseph Conrad

for soloists and orchestra, pre-produced recordings, live electronics

an artistic encounter between Brandenburg-based orchestra musicians, soloists from a refugee/exile/asylum background, deaf refugees and refugee musicians from Syria, Afghanistan, Pakistan/Kashmir, and Iran

Libretto: Stefanie Wördemann
with texts by Alessandro Striggio and Joseph Conrad
Audio design and production: Torsten Ottersberg / GOGH s.m.p.

Commissioned by the Kammerakademie Potsdam

Under the patronage of Mayor Jann Jakobs

With the support of the state capital of Potsdam, the State of Brandenburg, the Schering Stiftung, the Allianz Kulturstiftung, der Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung für die Freiheit, and ProPotsdam, as well as the Zentrum für Kultur und visuelle Kommunikation der Gehörlosen in Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.

More information:

www.helmutoehring.de

www.kammerakademie-potsdam.de

Photos:

Portrait Helmut Oehring: © Oellermann
Kammerakademie Potsdam: © Stefan Gloede
Kammerakademie Potsdam, Credit: Stefan Gloede

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

FinsterHERZ oder Orfeo17

01.09.2017, Berlin | Am 30. September 2017, 20 Uhr, wird im ARENA Waschhaus in Potsdam eine audiovisuelle Komposition uraufgeführt, die sich dem Thema Grenzüberschreitung in allen Facetten widmet. FinsterHERZ oder Orfeo17 von Helmut Oehring bewegt sich zwischen Heimat und Fremde, Kommunikation und Sprachlosigkeit, Alter und Neuer Musik, gesprochener Sprache und Gebärde, Interpreten und Publikum. Die musikalisch-szenische Realisierung erarbeiten der Komponist und sein künstlerisches Team nicht nur mit dem Orchester der Kammerakademie Potsdam und international renommierten Vokal- und Instrumentalsolisten, sondern auch mit gehörlosen Geflüchteten und Exil-Musikern aus Syrien, Afghanistan, Pakistan/Kaschmir und Iran.

Portrait Helmut Oehring, Credit: Oellermann

In FinsterHERZ oder Orfeo17 suchen Helmut Oehring und sein langjähriges künstlerisches Team – Librettistin und Co-Regisseurin Stefanie Wördemann und Klangregisseur Torsten Ottersberg – künstlerisch-autobiografische Begegnungen: Zwischen den Musikern der Kammerakademie Potsdam und Solisten im Bereich von zeitgenössischer Musik, Jazz und syrischer Avantgarde sowie gehörlosen Geflüchteten und Musikern, die Asyl in Brandenburg suchen. Zwischen Claudio Monteverdis Oper L’Orfeo und Joseph Conrads Roman Herz der Finsternis – zwei „Reiseberichten“: ins antike Totenreich bei Monteverdi, nach Belgisch-Kongo/Westafrika während des Genozids an den Ureinwohnern in der Kolonialzeit bei Conrad –, zugleich aber auch zeitlose Geschichten von Heimat, Identität, Kultur, Ethik und Sprache, traumatische Reisen ins Seelenleben ihrer Protagonisten.

Es entsteht ein vielschichtiger, audio-visueller Dialog: Mit wechselnden Erzählperspektiven suchen Oehring und das künstlerische Team im offenen Prozess zwischen Komposition und Realisation multilinguale Begegnungen zwischen den Interpreten und den gehörlosen Geflüchteten und Exil-Musikern, Poesie und Dokumentation, Klang und Stille, Fluchterinnerungen und Exilexistenzen – zielend ins Herz unserer Gesellschaft.

Seit 30 Jahren verknüpft der 1961 in Ost-Berlin geborene und in Brandenburg lebende Komponist, Gitarrist, Autor und Regisseur Helmut Oehring poetische und dokumentarisch-politische Inhalte. Seine vielfach preisgekrönten Werke bewegen sich auf der Schnittstelle zwischen instrumental-vokalem Theater und szenischem Konzert. Als Kind gehörloser Eltern aufgewachsen, thematisiert er die Grenzen menschlicher Kommunikation, die Möglichkeiten und Unmöglichkeiten diesseits und jenseits von Sprache.

FinsterHERZ oder Orfeo17

Premiere: 30. September 2017, 20 Uhr

Weitere Aufführungen:
1.10.2017, 11 Uhr
3.10.2017, 18 Uhr

ARENA Waschhaus
Schiffbauergasse 6, 14467 Potsdam

Szenisches Konzert nach Claudio Monteverdis Oper L’Orfeo
und der Erzählung Heart of Darkness von Joseph Conrad
für Solisten und Orchester, vorproduzierte Zuspiele, Live-Elektronik

als künstlerische Begegnung von Brandenburger OrchestermusikerInnen, SolistInnen mit Flucht/Exil/Asyl-Hintergrund, gehörlosen Geflüchteten und geflüchteten Musikern aus Syrien, Afghanistan, Pakistan/Kaschmir und Iran

Textbuch: Stefanie Wördemann
mit Texten von Alessandro Striggio und Joseph Conrad
Audiokonzeption und -produktion: Torsten Ottersberg / GOGH s.m.p.

Auftragswerk der Kammerakademie Potsdam

Unter der Schirmherrschaft von Oberbürgermeister Jann Jakobs

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Landeshauptstadt Potsdam, des Landes Brandenburg, der Schering Stiftung, der Allianz Kulturstiftung, der Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung für die Freiheit und der ProPotsdam sowie des Zentrums für Kultur und visuelle Kommunikation der Gehörlosen Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.

Weitere Informationen:

www.helmutoehring.de

www.kammerakademie-potsdam.de

Fotos:

Portrait Helmut Oehring: © Oellermann
Kammerakademie Potsdam: © Stefan Gloede
Kammerakademie Potsdam, Credit: Stefan Gloede

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr