Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Friedmund Neumann Prize 2017

Dr. Ivana Nikić-Spiegel

Group Leader at the Werner Reichardt Centre for Integrative Neuroscience of the University of Tübingen

for her outstanding work on neuroinflammation

Nikic-Spiegel_2017_Web_GRAU

Ivana Nikić-Spiegel is group leader at the Werner Reichardt Centre for Integrative Neuroscience of the University of Tübingen. In her research, she combines two state-of-the-art technologies in a promising way. Already in her doctoral work at the University of Munich (LMU), the molecular biologist was able to describe a new form of neuronal damage (the so-called focal axonal degeneration), which is caused by immune cell attacks. But what happens at the molecular level during this neuronal damage? As a post-doc at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) in Heidelberg, Ivana Nikić-Spiegel developed a new method for protein labeling. Combining this with the use of super-resolution microscopy, she is now able to image the function of proteins at nanometer resolution and to use this technique for her investigations into neuroinflammation.

Dr. Nikić-Spiegel was nominated for the Friedmund Neumann Prize 2017 by Dr. Edward Lemke, group leader at the EMBL. Ivana Nikić-Spiegel’s research helps us understand the pathology of multiple sclerosis, from the molecular all the way to the physiological and medically relevant levels. At the same time, she has the unique ability to develop and apply new and groundbreaking tools of chemical biology. This makes her research truly cutting-edge and internationally outstanding,” says Lemke.

Award Ceremony

September 25, 2017, 6:30 p.m.
Leibnizsaal at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Markgrafenstr. 38 | 10117 Berlin

Registration is possible until September 17 at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

pdf Invitation card for download

pdf Further information with research abstract and CV

The award ceremony features a musical performance by the STEGREIF.orchester. It is the only improvised symphony orchestra worldwide, consisting of 24 young musicians who want to revolutionize classical music. Breaking away from strict conventions, they use neither sheet music nor a conductor. The resulting freedom facilitates spontaneity, improvisation, and movement. Each production is based on a classical symphony which is combined with different musical styles such as jazz, folk or techno. The STEGREIF.orchester thus creates a completely new sound experience, which is supported by an expressive choreography. www.stegreif-orchester.de

Lectures by Ivana Nikić-Spiegel

September 26, 2017
Lecture to high school students: Using microscopy to understand neurological diseases
Lise-Meitner-Schule, Berlin (not open to the public)

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Friedmund Neumann Preis 2017

Prof. Dr. Ivana Nikić-Spiegel

Werner Reichardt Centrum für Integrative Neurowissenschaften der Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen

für ihre herausragenden Arbeiten zur Neuroinflammation

Nikic-Spiegel_2017_Web_GRAU

Ivana Nikić-Spiegel ist Gruppenleiterin am Werner Reichardt Centrum für Integrative Neurowissenschaften (CIN) der Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen und verbindet in ihrer Forschung zwei hochmoderne Spitzentechnologien in erfolgversprechender Weise miteinander. Die studierte Molekularbiologin konnte bereits in ihrer Doktorarbeit an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München eine neue Form der Nervenschädigung (die sog. Fokale Axonale Degeneration) beschreiben, die durch Angriffe von Immunzellen hervorgerufen wird. Doch was passiert auf molekularer Ebene bei dieser Nervenschädigung? Ivana Nikić-Spiegel hat in ihrer Postdoc-Zeit am European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) in Heidelberg eine neue Methode der Proteinmarkierung entwickelt. Zusammen mit dem Einsatz von ultrahochauflösender Mikroskopie ist sie nun in der Lage, die Funktion von Proteinen in Nanometer-Auflösung abzubilden und für ihre Fragestellungen im Bereich entzündlicher Erkrankungen des Zentralnervensystems (Neuroinflammation) einzusetzen.

Frau Dr. Nikić-Spiegel wurde für den Friedmund Neumann Preis 2017 von Dr. Edward Lemke, Gruppenleiter am EMBL, vorgeschlagen. „Ivana Nikić-Spiegels Forschung deckt die komplette Bandbreite ab, um vom molekularen Mechanismus bis zur Physiologie die Gründe für Multiple Sklerose zu verstehen. Hierfür entwickelt und nutzt sie auf einzigartige Weise neue und bahnbrechende Methoden aus der chemischen Biologie. Das macht ihre Forschung wirklich innovativ und international herausragend,“ so Lemke.

Preisverleihung

25. September 2017, 18:30 Uhr

Leibnizsaal der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
Markgrafenstr. 38 | 10117 Berlin

Anmeldung bis 17.09. unter Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

pdf Einladungskarte zum Download

pdfAusführliche Informationen mit Forschungsabstract und CV

Musikalisch begleitet wird die Preisverleihung vom STEGREIF.orchester. Es ist das einzige improvisierte Sinfonieorchester weltweit und besteht aus 24 jungen Musikern, die die Klassik revolutionieren wollen. Sie lösen sich von starren Konventionen, spielen weder mit Noten noch mit einem Dirigenten. Die dadurch gewonnene Freiheit gibt ihnen Raum für Spontanität, Improvisation und Bewegung. Grundlage einer jeden Produktion ist eine klassische Sinfonie, die mit verschiedenen Musikstilen wie Jazz, Folk oder Techno kombiniert wird. So schafft das STEGREIF.orchester ein völlig neues Klangerlebnis, unterstützt durch eine ausdrucksstarke Choreografie. www.stegreif-orchester.de

Vortrag von Dr. Ivana Nikić-Spiegel

26. September 2017
Schülervortrag: Using microscopy to understand neurological diseases
Lise-Meitner-Schule, Berlin (nicht öffentlich)