Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Gene editing: On the way to the super plant?

24.10.2017, Berlin | More productive plants to combat the hunger in the world? Plants that protect themselves against insects? Robust plant types that defy climate change? Genetic engineering promises to make all of this possible. Thanks to the discovery of genetic “scissors” like CRISPR/Cas9, plant breeding is currently experiencing a revolution, for the method is fast, precise, and significantly less expensive than previous methods. But how exactly do genetic scissors work? What new plant types can be cultivated through genome editing? And are the new breeding methods really suited to making more precise interventions? Do we need new regulations to minimize the risks to our health and the environment? These questions will be addressed by the platform “Die Debatte” (The Debate) – online at www.die-debatte.org and live at Schloss Herrenhausen in Hanover on November 1, 2017, at 7 p.m.

csm_Logo_Die_Debatte_weiss

Debate on Green Genetic Engineering

Online

www.die-debatte.org
with background information, videos and interviews

Live-Debate

November 1, 2017, 7 pm

Schloss Herrenhausen Hannover
Herrenhäuser Str. 5
30419 Hannover

with:
Jens Boch, Institute of Plant Genetics, Leibniz University Hannover
Thomas Rippel, Biofarmer, Switzerland
Sarah Bechtold, Institut Technik-Theologie-Naturwissenschaften, München

Admission is free. Registration is not required.

The event will be livestreamed at www.die-debatte.org

The platform „The Debate”

Science crucially contributes to the development of our society. In the public perception, however, it not only represents progress but is often seen as a threat to human safety and security. The more science changes the conditions of life in ways that are tangible to everyone, the more it needs to engage in a constructive dialogue with society. To enable citizens to participate in this discussion, it takes a solid general education in the sciences and an understanding of scientific research.

The initiative Wissenschaft im Dialog (Science in Dialogue), the Science Media Center Germany, and the Technische Universität Braunschweig have launched the platform “The Debate.” It offers a space for discussing controversial science topics and scientific perspectives on socially relevant and much-debated topics. This takes place in the form of live debates, factual videos, multimedia information tools, and interviews.

The Ernst Schering Foundation is pleased to be able to support the platform “The Debate.”


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Genchirurgie: Auf dem Weg zur Superpflanze?

24.10.2017, Berlin | Ertragreichere Pflanzen gegen den Hunger in der Welt? Pflanzen, die sich selbst vor Schädlingen schützen? Robuste Pflanzensorten, die dem Klimawandel trotzen? Möglich machen soll all das die Grüne Gentechnik. Dank der Entdeckung von Genscheren wie CRISPR/Cas9 erlebt die Pflanzenzüchtung derzeit eine Revolution, denn die Methode ist schnell, präzise und deutlich kostengünstiger als bisherige Verfahren. Doch wie genau funktionieren Genscheren? Welche neuen Pflanzensorten lassen sich mit der Genchirurgie züchten? Und sind die neuen Zuchtmethoden tatsächlich geeignet, präzisere Eingriffe vorzunehmen? Braucht es neue Regulierungen, um Risiken für unsere Gesundheit und die Umwelt zu minimieren? Mit diesen Fragen beschäftigt sich die Plattform „Die Debatte“ online unter www.die-debatte.org und live am 1. November 2017, um 19 Uhr, im Schloss Herrenhausen Hannover.

csm_Logo_Die_Debatte_weiss

Debatte zum Thema Grüne Gentechnik

Online
www.die-debatte.org
mit Hintergrundinformationen, Videos und Interviews

Live-Debatte

01.11.2017, 19 Uhr

Schloss Herrenhausen Hannover
Herrenhäuser Str. 5
30419 Hannover

mit:
Jens Boch, Institut für Pflanzengenetik an der Leibniz Universität Hannover
Thomas Rippel, Biofarmer, Schweiz
Sarah Bechtold, Institut Technik-Theologie-Naturwissenschaften, München

Der Eintritt ist frei. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Livestream der Veranstaltung unter www.die-debatte.org

Zur Plattform „Die Debatte“

Die Wissenschaft trägt wesentlich zur Entwicklung unserer Gesellschaft bei. Sie verkörpert in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung jedoch nicht nur den Fortschritt, sondern wird oft auch als Bedrohung der menschlichen Sicherheit empfunden. Je mehr die Wissenschaften individuell spürbar die Bedingungen des Lebens verändern, umso mehr sind sie auch aufgefordert, in einen konstruktiven Dialog mit der Gesellschaft einzutreten. Um die Bürger in die Lage zu versetzen, an dieser Diskussion aktiv teilzunehmen, bedarf es auch einer möglichst breiten wissenschaftlichen Grundbildung und eines Verständnisses wissenschaftlicher Forschung.

Die Initiative Wissenschaft im Dialog, das Science Media Center Germany und die Technische Universität Braunschweig haben deshalb die Plattform „Die Debatte“ ins Leben gerufen. Sie bietet Raum für die Diskussion kontroverser Themen aus der Wissenschaft und wissenschaftliche Perspektiven auf gesellschaftlich relevante und öffentlich viel diskutierte Themen. Dies geschieht in Form von Live-Debatten, Fact-Videos, multimedialen Info-Tools und Interviews.
Die Schering Stiftung freut sich, die Plattform „Die Debatte“ unterstützen zu können.


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr