Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale

 

Live Debate: What to Do When Kidneys, Livers and Hearts Are Getting Scarce?

09.03.2018, Berlin | While more than 10,000 people in Germany are desperately waiting for a donor organ, the number of organ donors decreases every year. In 2017, it was 797, the lowest number in twenty years. What are the reasons for people’s reluctance to donate organs? Is it due to a lack of education, advertising or trust in the system? Do we need new incentive systems or might new rules increase people’s willingness to donate? Are there alternative research approaches that could make human-to-human organ donations superfluous? These questions will be addressed by the platform “The Debate“ online at www.die-debatte.org and live on March 23, 2018, at 7 p.m., at the Zeiss-Großplanetarium in Berlin. Join us for the discussion!

csm_Logo_Die_Debatte_weiss

Debate on Organ Donation

Guests

Dr. Solveig Lena Hansen, Department for Medical Ethics and the History of Medicine, University of Göttingen

Dr. Axel Rahmel, Medical Director, German Organ Transplantation Foundation (DSO)

Prof. Dr. Bruno Reichart, Spokesperson, interdisciplinary DFG Transregional Collaborative Research Center on Xenotransplantation

The discussion will be moderated by Christoph Koch (Stern) and Dr. Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim (freelance science journalist).

Live Debate

March 23, 2018 | 7 p.m.

Zeiss-Großplanetarium
Prenzlauer Allee 80 | 10405 Berlin

Admission is free. Registration is not required. In German.
The event will be livestreamed at www.die-debatte.org

Online

www.die-debatte.org

with background information, videos and interviews

The Platform “The Debate”

Science crucially contributes to the development of our society. In the public perception, however, it not only represents progress but is often seen as a threat to human safety and security. The more science changes the conditions of life in ways that are tangible to everyone, the more it needs to engage in a constructive dialogue with society. To enable citizens to participate in this discussion, it takes a solid general education in the sciences and an understanding of scientific research.

The initiative Wissenschaft im Dialog (Science in Dialogue), the Science Media Center Germany, and the Technische Universität Braunschweig have launched the platform “The Debate.” It offers a space for discussing controversial science topics and scientific perspectives on socially relevant and much-debated topics. This takes place in the form of live debates, factual videos, multimedia information tools, and interviews.

The Schering Stiftung is pleased to be able to support the platform “The Debate.”


News

The Unseen Universe (An Introduction to Particle Physics)

26.04.2018, Berlin | For his video work DELPHI Rationale, the artist Philipp Lachenmann filmed at the...
more

DOME – Our Relationship with the Cosmos

25.04.2018, Berlin | The interdisciplinary art project DOME invites you to engage with “cosmic realities” at...
more

Alfred Kerr Acting Prize 2018

25.04.2018, Berlin | The Alfred Kerr Acting Prize has been awarded annually since 1991 as part...
more

Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale

 

Live-Debatte: Was tun, wenn Niere, Leber und Herz knapp werden?

09.03.2018, Berlin | Während mehr als 10.000 Menschen in Deutschland dringend auf ein Spenderorgan warten, sinkt die Zahl der Organspender von Jahr zu Jahr. 2017 lag sie bei 797 und erreichte damit den niedrigsten Stand seit 20 Jahren. Wo liegen die Gründe für die mangelnde Bereitschaft zur Organspende? Fehlt es an Aufklärung, Werbekampagnen oder an Vertrauen in das System? Braucht es neue Anreizsysteme oder könnten gar neue Regelungen die Spendenbereitschaft erhöhen? Und: Gibt es alternative Ansätze aus der Forschung, die eine Spende von Mensch zu Mensch in Zukunft überflüssig machen könnten? Mit diesen Fragen beschäftigt sich die Plattform „Die Debatte“ online unter www.die-debatte.org und live am 23. März 2018, um 19 Uhr, im Zeiss-Großplanetarium in Berlin. Diskutieren Sie mit!

csm_Logo_Die_Debatte_weiss

Debatte zum Thema Organspende

Gäste

Dr. Solveig Lena Hansen vom Institut für Ethik und Geschichte der Medizin der Universität Göttingen Dr. Axel Rahmel, Medizinischer Vorstand der Deutschen Stiftung Organtransplantation

Prof. Dr. Bruno Reichart, Sprecher des interdisziplinären Sonderforschungsbereichs Xenotransplantation

Moderiert wird die Veranstaltung von Christoph Koch (Stern) und Dr. Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim (freie Wissenschaftsjournalistin).

Live-Debatte

23.03.2018 | 19 Uhr

Zeiss-Großplanetarium
Prenzlauer Allee 80 | 10405 Berlin

Der Eintritt ist frei. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.
Livestream der Veranstaltung unter www.die-debatte.org

Online-Debatte

www.die-debatte.org
mit Hintergrundinformationen, Videos und Interviews

Zur Plattform „Die Debatte“

Die Wissenschaft trägt wesentlich zur Entwicklung unserer Gesellschaft bei. Sie verkörpert in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung jedoch nicht nur den Fortschritt, sondern wird oft auch als Bedrohung der menschlichen Sicherheit empfunden. Je mehr die Wissenschaften individuell spürbar die Bedingungen des Lebens verändern, umso mehr sind sie auch aufgefordert, in einen konstruktiven Dialog mit der Gesellschaft einzutreten. Um die Bürger in die Lage zu versetzen, an dieser Diskussion aktiv teilzunehmen, bedarf es auch einer möglichst breiten wissenschaftlichen Grundbildung und eines Verständnisses wissenschaftlicher Forschung.

Die Initiative Wissenschaft im Dialog, das Science Media Center Germany und die Technische Universität Braunschweig haben deshalb die Plattform „Die Debatte“ ins Leben gerufen. Sie bietet Raum für die Diskussion kontroverser Themen aus der Wissenschaft und wissenschaftliche Perspektiven auf gesellschaftlich relevante und öffentlich viel diskutierte Themen. Dies geschieht in Form von Live-Debatten, Fact-Videos, multimedialen Info-Tools und Interviews.

Die Schering Stiftung freut sich, die Plattform „Die Debatte“ unterstützen zu können.


Aktuelles

The Unseen Universe (An Introduction to Particle Physics)

26.04.2018, Berlin | Für seine Videoarbeit DELPHI Rationale filmte der Künstler Philipp Lachenmann im DELPHI-Teilchendetektor am...
mehr

DOME – Unser Verhältnis zum Kosmos

25.04.2018, Berlin | Das interdisziplinäre Kunstprojekt DOME lädt vom 18.05. bis 01.07.2018 im Zeiss-Großplanetarium in Berlin-Prenzlauer...
mehr

Alfred-Kerr-Darstellerpreis 2018

25.04.2018, Berlin | Der Alfred-Kerr-Darstellerpreis wird seit 1991 jährlich im Rahmen des Berliner Theatertreffens an eine...
mehr