Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale


Alfred Kerr Acting Prize 2018

25.04.2018, Berlin | The Alfred Kerr Acting Prize has been awarded annually since 1991 as part of the Berliner Theatertreffen to a young actor, honoring his/her outstanding performance in a production invited to perform at the Theatertreffen. This year’s award ceremony takes place on Whit Monday, May 21, 2018, at 2 p.m. at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele. The 5000-euro prize was initiated by Judith and Michael Kerr and the Pressestiftung Tagesspiegel. The 2018 prize recipient was chosen by juror Fabian Hinrichs.

Fabian Hinrichs, Photo: Sibilla Calzolari

Fabian Hinrichs (*1974) had his first stage engagement at the Schauspielhaus Bochum while still studying acting. From 2000 to 2005, he was a member of the company of the Volksbühne on Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz. For his performance in the solo play “Ich schau dir in die Augen, gesellschaftlicher Verblendungszusammenhang!” (Here’s Looking At You, Social Context of Delusion) by René Pollesch, he was selected Actor of the Year by the magazine Theater heute in 2010. He received several awards for his movie and TV films, including the 2010 Max Ophüls Special Award for Acting for his performance in the film “Schwerkraft” (Gravity).  In 2012 he received the Alfred Kerr Acting Prize and in 2014 the Ulrich Wildgruber Prize for his artistic work as actor, author, and director. Since 2008, Fabian Hinrichs has written and directed his own theater productions, which were performed, among other places, at the Sophiensaele, the Berliner Festspiele, and HAU in Berlin, as well as nationally and internationally at Le Maillon – Théâtre de Strasbourg; Kaserne Basel; Deutsches Schauspielhaus Hamburg; Kampnagel, Hamburg; and Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, Frankfurt. Since 2003, he has starred in numerous film and TV productions; his current roles include Inspector Felix Voss in the “Franconia Tatort” series.

Fabian Hinrichs is the latest in a line of prominent Kerr Prize judges, including Bernhard Minetti, Marianne Hoppe, Ulrich Mühe, Ulrich Matthes, Martin Wuttke, Martina Gedeck, Eva Mattes, Nina Hoss, Thomas Thieme, Edith Clever, Samuel Finzi, and Imogen Kogge. As they always managed to discover the most talented among the emerging actors, the list of the previous prize recipients reads like a “Who’s Who” of the current generation of actors. Previous prize winners include Steffi Kühnert, Kathrin Angerer, Johanna Wokalek, Fritzi Haberlandt, Lina Beckmann, August Diehl, Devid Striesow, Wiebke Puls, Felix Goeser, Julischka Eichel, Kathleen Morgeneyer, Paul Herwig, Fabian Hinrichs, Julia Häusermann, Valery Tscheplanowa, and Michael Wächter.

Alfred Kerr Acting Prize

Award Ceremony: May 21, 2018, 2 p.m.
Haus der Berliner Festspiele
Schaperstr. 24, 10719 Berlin
Admission free

The Alfred Kerr Acting Prize is made possible through the support of the Alfred Kerr Foundation, the Tagesspiegel, and the Schering Stiftung.

Photo: © Sibilla Calzolari


Founded in 2002 by Schering AG, Berlin, the independent and non-profit Ernst Schering Foundation aims to promote science and art ...