Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Dialogue with Science

Science makes an important contribution to the development of our society. In the public perception, however, it embodies not only progress but is also felt to be a threat to human safety and security. The more the sciences noticeably change the conditions of our lives, the more they are called upon to enter into a constructive dialogue with society. In order to enable citizens to actively participate in this discussion, it requires a broad science education and an understanding of scientific research. The Ernst Schering Foundation pursues these objectives through a variety of initiatives. It organizes and supports science lectures for a wider audience, holds public discussions and symposia on controversial scientific topics, and promotes science communication in Germany. As part of its programs on science education, it helps get children and young people excited about science at an early age.


Lecture Series: Life in Numbers - with Rob Phillips

04.10.2017, Berlin | During the 2017 summer term, the Integrative Research Institute of Life Sciences at HU Berlin hosts the colloquium “Life in Numbers.” The colloquium features lectures by outstanding international scientists who present their current research in the field of quantitative biology. On October 12, 2017, at 4 p.m., Rob Phillips from the California Institute of Technology, USA, will give a talk entitled Drunken Sailors, Coin Flips and How to Read Genomes.” He will show how simple tools from statistical physics can be used to predict the level of expression of different genes, and describe precision measurements used to test those predictions. In addition, he will describe unexpected ways of using the physics of information transfer first developed at Bell Labs for thinking about telephone communications to try to decipher the meaning of the regulatory features of genomes.

Rob Phillips

Read more...

   

Lecture Series: Life in Numbers - with Johan Elf

04.09.2017, Berlin | During the 2017 summer term, the Integrative Research Institute of Life Sciences (IRI) at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin hosts the colloquium “Life in Numbers.” The colloquium features lectures by outstanding international scientists who present their current research in the field of quantitative biology. On September 7, at 4 p.m., Johan Elf from Uppsala University, Sweden, will give a talk entitled Probing intracellular kinetics at single molecule sensitivity." Elf is particularly interested in how key steps in transcription, translation and replication are regulated in the intracellular environment and at what level of physical detail these processes need to be modelled to describe their function in the living cell. To answer these questions, he uses state-of-the-art single molecule microscopy methods to study kinetics and diffusion in living cells.


Read more...

   

The Debate – The Power of Opinion Polling

01.08.2017, Berlin | The political year 2017 is edging towards its climax: the federal elections on September 24. Who we vote for depends on a variety of factors, and predicting the results is much more difficult today than it was even a few years ago. Is opinion polling in crisis? Or is it more powerful than ever in influencing our voting decisions? These and other questions around the power of polls will be discussed as part of the platform “The Debate” at the Lecture Hall Ruin of the Charité Berlin on August 31, at 7 p.m.

csm_Logo_Die_Debatte_weiss

Read more...

   

In the Case of Side Effects, Please Consult Your Algorithm

01.08.2017, Berlin | Will we lead longer and better lives as a result of personalized pills and nanorobotics? How will artificial intelligence influence the medicine of the future? And where to put all the data and information? These and other questions will be addressed by a Digital Salon entitled “In the Case of Side Effects, Please Consult Your Algorithm,” which will be held at the Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society on August 30, at 7 p.m.

Digitaler Salon_HIIG

Read more...

   

Digital Salon: A Soft Spot for Cyborgs

22.05.2017, Berlin | Smart robot hands, artificial legs, printable organs: Are implants the panacea of the future? Where does 3D printing lead us, and what are the legal consequences? These and other questions will be addressed during a Digital Salon entitled “A Soft Spot for Cyborgs,” which will be held at the Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society on June 28, 2017, at 7 p.m.

Digitaler Salon_HIIG

Read more...

   

Long Night of the Sciences at the Ernst Schering Foundation

23.05.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation participates for the first time when more than 70 science institutions in Berlin and Potsdam open their doors for the Long Night of the Sciences 2017 on June 24, from 5 p.m. until midnight. In its interior courtyard, the Foundation offers exciting neuroscience lectures on visual perception and human consciousness. In addition, there are guided tours of the exhibition “Retreat into Darkness: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown” by Ivana Franke and inspiring conversations. An evening with Anil Seth, Michael Pauen, Melanie Wilke, Philipp Sterzer, Ivana Franke, and Elena Agudio.  

LNdW_Logo

Read more...

   

The Debate – Facts, Research, Positions

26.04.2017, Berlin | Fake news, alternative facts, conspiracy theories – the public debate on many topics challenges or ignores scientifically proven facts; public discussions on controversial issues are rarely fact-based or enriched with scientific background knowledge. Therefore, the initiative Wissenschaft im Dialog (Science in Dialogue), the Science Media Center Germany, and the Technische Universität Braunschweig have launched the platform “The Debate.” It offers a space for discussing controversial science topics and scientific perspectives on socially relevant and much-debated topics. This happens in the form of live debates, factual videos, multimedia information tools, and interviews. The first live debate, on May 19, 2017 at the Haus der Wissenschaft in Braunschweig, will deal with the topic of “Self-Driving Cars.”

Read more...

   

Lecture Series: Life in Numbers

31.05.2017, Berlin | During the 2017 summer term, the Integrative Research Institute of Life Sciences (IRI) at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, with support from the Ernst Schering Foundation, hosts the colloquium “Life in Numbers.” The colloquium features lectures by outstanding international scientists who present their current research in the field of quantitative biology. June will see two lectures in the five-part series: On June 1, at 4 p.m., Peter Lénárt from the EMBL in Heidelberg will give a talk entitled “The same, only different: How does the cytoskeleton adapt to meisosis-specific functions?,” and on June 22, at 4 p.m., Joe Howard from Yale University, USA, will talk about “Microtubules, motors, and morphogensis.” The IRI Colloquium is aimed at students, doctoral candidates, researchers as well as the interested public.


Read more...

   

What Drives Us Apart – Hate Speech in the Digital Age

05.04.2017, Berlin | The internet and the social media have made political and personal diffamation an everyday occurrence. So-called hate speech is malicious, direct and often not even anonymous anymore. The inciters gain adherents, and their hatred is shared. However, hatred is not a media but a societal problem. On April 21, 2017, the Ernst Schering Foundation and the Stiftung Brandenburger Tor will host a discussion evening on this topic.

Sprecher_Was_uns_auseinandertreibt

Read more...

   

Science in the Dinosaur Hall 2016

02.01.2016, Berlin | How does my internal clock determine my daily rhythm? What is living in the deep sea? Can plants communicate? These and many other questions will be answered by scientists from disciplines as different as marine biology, ecology, chronobiology, and psychology in a lecture series entitled “Science in the Dinosaur Hall” at the Natural History Museum in Berlin. They will take us into foreign worlds, solve mysteries of nature, and vividly explain abstract phenomena.

The lecture series “Science in the Dinosaur Hall” is co-organized by Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, the Natural History Museum in Berlin, and the Ernst Schering Foundation. Together, we invite you to eight evening lectures in the Dinosaur Hall, which will take you into the fascinating world of science. Following the lectures, you will have the opportunity for an exclusive visit to the museum until 10 p.m.

Sauriersaal

Read more...

   

Page 1 of 6

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > End >>

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Dialog mit der Wissenschaft

Die Wissenschaft trägt wesentlich zur Entwicklung unserer Gesellschaft bei. Sie verkörpert in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung jedoch nicht nur den Fortschritt, sondern wird oft auch als Bedrohung der menschlichen Sicherheit empfunden. Je mehr die Wissenschaften individuell spürbar die Bedingungen des Lebens verändern, umso mehr sind sie auch aufgefordert, in einen konstruktiven Dialog mit der Gesellschaft einzutreten. Um den Bürger in die Lage zu versetzen, an dieser Diskussion aktiv teilzunehmen, bedarf es auch einer möglichst breiten wissenschaftlichen Grundbildung und eines Verständnisses wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Die Schering Stiftung setzt sich mit einer Reihe von Initiativen für diese Ziele ein. Sie veranstaltet und fördert wissenschaftliche Vortragsreihen, die sich an die breite Öffentlichkeit richten, führt öffentliche Diskussionen und Symposien zu kontroversen wissenschaftlichen Themen durch und fördert die Wissenschaftskommunikation in Deutschland. Im Rahmen ihrer Programme zur wissenschaftlichen Bildung leistet sie einen Beitrag dazu, Kinder und Jugendliche frühzeitig für Wissenschaft zu begeistern.


Vortragsreihe: Life in Numbers - mit Rob Phillips

04.10.2017, Berlin | Im Sommersemester 2017 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften der HU Berlin zu dem Kolloquium „Life in Numbers“ ein. Angeboten werden Vorträge hochkarätiger internationaler Wissenschaftler, die ihre aktuellen Forschungsarbeiten aus dem Bereich der Quantitativen Biologie vorstellen. Am 12. Oktober 2017, um 16 Uhr, hält Rob Phillips vom California Institute of Technology, USA einen Vortrag mit dem Titel Drunken Sailors, Coin Flips and How to Read Genomes”. Darin zeigt er auf, wie man mithilfe einfacher Instrumente der statistischen Physik den Expressionsgrad verschiedener Gene voraussagen und mit Präzisionsmessungen diese Voraussagen überprüfen kann. Desweiteren beschreibt er unerwartete Verwendungsmöglichkeiten der Physik des Informationstransfers, wie sie die Bell Labs in Bezug auf die Telefonkommunikation entwickelt hatten, um damit womöglich die Bedeutung der Regulationseigenschaften von Genomen zu entziffern.

Rob Phillips

Weiterlesen...

   

Vortragsreihe: Life in Numbers - mit Johan Elf

04.09.2017, Berlin | Im Sommersemester 2017 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt-Universität Berlin zu dem Kolloquium „Life in Numbers“ ein. Angeboten werden Vorträge hochkarätiger internationaler Wissenschaftler, die ihre aktuellen Forschungsarbeiten aus dem Bereich der Quantitativen Biologie vorstellen. Am 7. September 2017, um 16 Uhr, hält Johan Elf von der Universität Uppsala, Schweden, einen Vortrag mit dem Titel Probing intracellular kinetics at single molecule sensitivity". Elfs Interesse gilt der Frage, wie entscheidende Schritte in der Transkription, Translation und Replikation in den Zellen reguliert und auf welcher physikalischen Detailebene diese Prozesse modelliert werden müssen, um ihre Funktionen in der lebenden Zelle beschreiben zu können. Zur Beantwortung dieser Fragen verwendet er hochmoderne Einzelmolekülmikroskopie zur Untersuchung von Kinetik und Diffusion in lebenden Zellen.


Weiterlesen...

   

Die Debatte – Die Macht der Meinungsforschung

01.08.2017, Berlin | Das politische Jahr 2017 bewegt sich auf den Höhepunkt zu: Die Bundestagswahlen am 24. September. Wen wir wählen, hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren ab – das Ergebnis vorherzusagen ist heute ungleich schwerer als noch vor einigen Jahren. Steckt die Meinungsforschung in der Krise? Oder ist sie gar mächtiger als je zuvor und beeinflusst unsere Wahlentscheidung? Mit diesen und anderen Fragen rund um die Macht der Umfragemacher beschäftigt sich die Plattform „Die Debatte“ am 31. August 2017, um 19 Uhr, in der Hörsaal-Ruine der Charité Berlin.

csm_Logo_Die_Debatte_weiss

Weiterlesen...

   

Digitaler Salon: Bei Nebenwirkungen fragen Sie Ihren Algorithmus

01.08.2017, Berlin | Werden wir durch personalisierte Tabletten und Nano-Roboter künftig länger und besser leben? Welchen Einfluss hat Künstliche Intelligenz auf die Medizin von morgen? Und wohin mit den ganzen Daten? Diesen und weiteren Fragen geht am 30. August 2017, um 19 Uhr der Digitale Salon „Bei Nebenwirkungen fragen Sie Ihren Algorithmus“ im Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft nach.

Digitaler Salon_HIIG

Weiterlesen...

   

Digitaler Salon: Ein Herz für Cyborgs

29.05.2017, Berlin | Schlaue Roboterhände, Beinprothesen und gedruckte Organe. Sind Implantate das Allheilmittel der Zukunft? Wohin führt uns der 3D-Druck und was sind die rechtlichen Folgen? Diesen und weiteren Fragen geht am 28. Juni 2017, um 19 Uhr der Digitale Salon „Ein Herz für Cyborgs“ im Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft nach.

Digitaler Salon_HIIG

Weiterlesen...

   

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni 2017 mehr als 70 wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen in Berlin und Potsdam von 17 bis 24 Uhr ihre Türen anlässlich der Langen Nacht der Wissenschaften 2017 öffnen. Im Innenhof der Stiftung werden spannende neurowissenschaftliche Vorträge rund um die visuelle Wahrnehmung und das menschliche Bewusstsein angeboten. Daneben gibt es Führungen durch die Ausstellung „Retreat into Darkness. Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown“ von Ivana Franke sowie anregende Gesprächsrunden. Ein Abend mit Anil Seth, Michael Pauen, Melanie Wilke, Philipp Sterzer, Ivana Franke und Elena Agudio.

LNdW_Logo

Weiterlesen...

   

Die Debatte – Fakten, Forschung, Positionen

26.04.2017, Berlin | Fake-News, alternative Fakten, Verschwörungstheorien: Bei vielen Themen, die in der Öffentlichkeit diskutiert werden, werden wissenschaftlich erwiesene Fakten in Frage gestellt oder ausgeklammert. Öffentliche Diskussionen zu aktuellen, kontroversen Themen werden nur selten mit wissenschaftlichem Hintergrundwissen bereichert und faktenbasiert geführt. Die Initiative Wissenschaft im Dialog, das Science Media Center Germany und die Technische Universität Braunschweig haben deshalb die Plattform „Die Debatte“ ins Leben gerufen. Sie bietet Raum für die Diskussion kontroverser Themen aus der Wissenschaft und wissenschaftliche Perspektiven auf gesellschaftlich relevante und öffentlich viel diskutierte Themen. Dies geschieht in Form von Live-Debatten, Fact-Videos, multimedialen Info-Tools und Interviews. Die erste Live-Debatte wird sich am 19. Mai 2017 im Haus der Wissenschaft in Braunschweig mit dem Thema „Autonomes Fahren“ befassen.

csm_Logo_Die_Debatte_weiss

Weiterlesen...

   

Vortragsreihe: Life in Numbers - mit Peter Lénárt

31.05.2017, Berlin | Im Sommersemester 2017 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin mit Unterstützung der Schering Stiftung zu dem Kolloquium „Life in Numbers“ ein. Angeboten werden Vorträge hochkarätiger internationaler Wissenschaftler, die ihre aktuellen Forschungsarbeiten aus dem Bereich der Quantitativen Biologie vorstellen. Im Juni finden gleich zwei Vorträge der fünfteiligen Reihe statt: Peter Lénárt vom EMBL in Heidelberg hält am 1. Juni, um 16 Uhr, einen Vortrag unter dem Titel „The same, only different: how does the cytoskeleton adapt to meiosis-specific functions?“ und Joe Howard von der Yale University, USA, spricht am 22. Juni, um 16 Uhr, über „Microtubles, motors and morphogenesis“. Das IRI-Kolloquium richtet sich an Studierende, Promovierende und Forscher. Auch die interessierte Öffentlichkeit ist herzlich eingeladen.


Weiterlesen...

   

Was uns auseinandertreibt – Hassreden im digitalen Zeitalter

05.04.2017, Berlin | Politische und persönliche Diffamierungen gehören durch Internet und soziale Medien inzwischen zum gesellschaftlichen Alltag. Die sog. Hate Speech ist bösartig, direkt und häufig nicht einmal mehr anonym. Die Hetzer bekommen Zuspruch und ihr Hass wird geteilt. Dennoch ist Hass kein mediales, sondern ein gesamtgesellschaftliches Problem. Die Schering Stiftung und die Stiftung Brandenburger Tor widmen dieser Thematik am 21. April 2017 gemeinsam einen Gesprächsabend.

Sprecher_Was_uns_auseinandertreibt

Weiterlesen...

   

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2016

02.01.2016, Berlin | Wie bestimmt die innere Uhr meinen Tagesrhythmus? Was lebt in der Tiefsee? Können Pflanzen kommunizieren? Diese und viele andere Fragen beantworten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus so unterschiedlichen Disziplinen wie der Meeresbiologie, Ökologie, Chronobiologie und Psychologie in der Vortragsreihe „Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal“ im Museum für Naturkunde Berlin. Sie entführen uns in fremde Welten, lösen Rätsel der Natur und veranschaulichen abstrakte Phänomene.

Die Vortragsreihe „Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal“ ist ein Kooperationsprojekt der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, des Museums für Naturkunde Berlin und der Schering Stiftung. Gemeinsam laden wir Sie an acht Abenden ein, sich im Ambiente des Sauriersaals in die faszinierende Welt der Wissenschaft entführen zu lassen. Im Anschluss an die Vorträge haben Sie die Möglichkeit zu einem exklusiven Besuch des Museums bis 22 Uhr.

Sauriersaal

Weiterlesen...

   

Seite 1 von 6

<< Start < Zurück 1 2 3 4 5 6 Weiter > Ende >>

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen, die herausragende Arbeiten...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Die Selbstdarstellung ist so alt wie die Menschheitsgeschichte. Und doch scheint sie in...
mehr