Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Dialogue with Science

Science makes an important contribution to the development of our society. In the public perception, however, it embodies not only progress but is also felt to be a threat to human safety and security. The more the sciences noticeably change the conditions of our lives, the more they are called upon to enter into a constructive dialogue with society. In order to enable citizens to actively participate in this discussion, it requires a broad science education and an understanding of scientific research. The Ernst Schering Foundation pursues these objectives through a variety of initiatives. It organizes and supports science lectures for a wider audience, holds public discussions and symposia on controversial scientific topics, and promotes science communication in Germany. As part of its programs on science education, it helps get children and young people excited about science at an early age.


What Drives Us Apart – Hate Speech in the Digital Age

05.04.2017, Berlin | The internet and the social media have made political and personal diffamation an everyday occurrence. So-called hate speech is malicious, direct and often not even anonymous anymore. The inciters gain adherents, and their hatred is shared. However, hatred is not a media but a societal problem. On April 21, 2017, the Ernst Schering Foundation and the Stiftung Brandenburger Tor will host a discussion evening on this topic.

Sprecher_Was_uns_auseinandertreibt

Read more...

   

Science in the Dinosaur Hall 2016

02.01.2016, Berlin | How does my internal clock determine my daily rhythm? What is living in the deep sea? Can plants communicate? These and many other questions will be answered by scientists from disciplines as different as marine biology, ecology, chronobiology, and psychology in a lecture series entitled “Science in the Dinosaur Hall” at the Natural History Museum in Berlin. They will take us into foreign worlds, solve mysteries of nature, and vividly explain abstract phenomena.

The lecture series “Science in the Dinosaur Hall” is co-organized by Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, the Natural History Museum in Berlin, and the Ernst Schering Foundation. Together, we invite you to eight evening lectures in the Dinosaur Hall, which will take you into the fascinating world of science. Following the lectures, you will have the opportunity for an exclusive visit to the museum until 10 p.m.

Sauriersaal

Read more...

   

STATE of Emotion – The Sentimental Machine

21.10.2016, Berlin | Emotions are a fundamental source of our most personal experiences in the world and motivations to act, as well as a central element of our interaction with others. They have been considered the essence of what it means to be human, and what it means to be you. Entitled “STATE of Emotion – The Sentimental Machine,” this year’s STATE Festival in Berlin from November 3 to 5, 2016, brings together the latest developments and works at the intersection of current emotions research and artificial intelligence. It creates a meeting ground for science and the public, where scientific inquiry meets artistic expression: open, participatory and interdisciplinary.

State Festival, (c) STATE Festival, Montebelo, Grafikladen

Read more...

   

Symposium “The Evolution of Medicine to Evolutionary Medicine”

24.10.2016, Berlin | Evolutionary medicine sheds light on the interaction between environmental influences and human genetics as well as between the evolution of diseases and human susceptibility. It integrates evolutionary biology and medicine and includes topics that play a major role in both disciplines, such as, for example, epidemiology, infectious diseases, and the evolution of disease genes. It aims to understand how diseases work and to explore their evolutionary causes, as such insights can make a significant contribution to biomedical research. In order to build new bridges between evolutionary biology and medicine, the Integrative Research Institute of Life Sciences (IRI) at Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, on November 10, 2016, holds a symposium entitled “The Evolution of Medicine to Evolutionary Medicine” as part of its “Interdisciplinary Dialogue” series.

iri_logo_220x120

Read more...

   

Public Lecture on Molecular Chaperons

13.09.2016, Berlin | Proteins perform a variety of essential tasks in all cells of our body. In order to fulfill their biological functions, these chain-like molecules must fold into specific three-dimensional patterns. This process was originally thought to occur spontaneously. However, work by Prof. Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl, director of the Cellular Biochemistry Department at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried, showed that in our cells protein folding is mediated by chaperones. Incorrectly folded proteins tend to clump together to aggregates, which disturb cell functions in various ways and can cause neurodegenerative pathologies, such as Alzheimer’s dementia, Parkinson’s and Huntington’s disease. The insight offers opportunities for novel therapeutic approaches.

On September 23, 2016, the Freie Universität Berlin will host in cooperation with the Ernst Schering Foundation a public lecture by Professor Hartl on the topic “Molecular Chaperones: Their Role in Protein Folding and Neurodegenerative Disease.”

Franz-Ulrich Hartl_Foto: Axel Griesch, MPI für Biochemie

 

Film-Icon_Cartoon

Video about Prof. Hartls research (in German only)

Read more...

   

European Students’ Conference 2016

01.09.2016, Berlin | “Facing Antimicrobial Resistance – Research Revolution Wanted” is the title of the 27th European Students’ Conference, which takes place on September 23–26, 2016, at the Virchow Clinic of the Charité Berlin. Focusing on antimicrobial resistances, which are rapidly increasing worldwide, the ESC takes a closer look at the causes and consequences of the declining efficacy of antibiotic therapies. In the late 1960s, the war against infectious diseases was seen as largely won, but recent years have shown that this chapter is far from closed.

European Students' Conference

Read more...

   

Vaccination: Global Consequences of Individual Decisions

01.09.2016, Berlin | On September 16, 2016, the Integrative Research Institute for the Life Sciences (IRI) at Berlin’s Humboldt University presents a lecture on vaccinations by Prof. Dr. Lothar H. Wieler, director of the Robert Koch Institute in Berlin, and PD Dr. Cornelia Betsch from the University of Erfurt. The speakers will look at the willingness to get vaccinated and the global consequences of individual vaccination decisions.

(c) Dirk Brockmann, RKI

Read more...

   

Glimpses into the Beyond?

10.05.2016, Berlin | Once again this season, the lobby of the Komische Oper Berlin is the place where art meets science and theory meets entertainment. Continuing their successful cooperation, the Komische Oper Berlin and the Ernst Schering Foundation organize four evening salons featuring renowned scholars and scientists. In conjunction with the opera’s season program, the salons explore topics that are of interest to both science and the world of opera. A playful and relaxed atmosphere for discussion, such as had characterized nineteenth-century salons, is achieved by, among other things, a variety of discussion formats and artistic interventions related to the evening’s topic. Entitled Glimpses into the Beyond?,the fourth salon, on June 20, 2016, at 7:30 p.m., deals with near-death experiences.

Macho_Engmann

Read more...

   

Who Is Normal?

02.03.2016, Berlin | We are daily challenged by the dignity of every single human being: We perceive and judge deviations from the behavior we expect. Often, however, there is only a fine line between obsession and genius, between melancholy and depression. On April 21, 2016, the Ernst Schering Foundation and the Stiftung Brandenburger Tor devote an evening of conversation to this topic to try to define the boundary between disease and health and to explore the historical and cultural contingency of psychiatric concepts of illness and their diagnoses. How tolerant should our society be, and can we define conditions that help those affected find their place in society?

Jacobi - Rotzoll - Linke

Read more...

   

The Soul Is an Octopus

27.04.2016, Berlin | What does the soul consist of? How does it govern the human body, and where it is located? These questions will be explored by the exhibition “The Soul Is an Octopus: Ancient Ideas of Life and the Body,” which will be on view at the Berlin Museum of Medical History at the Charité from May 11 until September 11, 2016. It presents key conceptions of body and soul that were developed by physicians and philosophers between 500 BC and 500 AD and connects them to our ideas today.

Die Seele ist ein Oktopus

Read more...

   

Page 2 of 6

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > End >>

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Dialog mit der Wissenschaft

Die Wissenschaft trägt wesentlich zur Entwicklung unserer Gesellschaft bei. Sie verkörpert in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung jedoch nicht nur den Fortschritt, sondern wird oft auch als Bedrohung der menschlichen Sicherheit empfunden. Je mehr die Wissenschaften individuell spürbar die Bedingungen des Lebens verändern, umso mehr sind sie auch aufgefordert, in einen konstruktiven Dialog mit der Gesellschaft einzutreten. Um den Bürger in die Lage zu versetzen, an dieser Diskussion aktiv teilzunehmen, bedarf es auch einer möglichst breiten wissenschaftlichen Grundbildung und eines Verständnisses wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Die Schering Stiftung setzt sich mit einer Reihe von Initiativen für diese Ziele ein. Sie veranstaltet und fördert wissenschaftliche Vortragsreihen, die sich an die breite Öffentlichkeit richten, führt öffentliche Diskussionen und Symposien zu kontroversen wissenschaftlichen Themen durch und fördert die Wissenschaftskommunikation in Deutschland. Im Rahmen ihrer Programme zur wissenschaftlichen Bildung leistet sie einen Beitrag dazu, Kinder und Jugendliche frühzeitig für Wissenschaft zu begeistern.


Was uns auseinandertreibt – Hassreden im digitalen Zeitalter

05.04.2017, Berlin | Politische und persönliche Diffamierungen gehören durch Internet und soziale Medien inzwischen zum gesellschaftlichen Alltag. Die sog. Hate Speech ist bösartig, direkt und häufig nicht einmal mehr anonym. Die Hetzer bekommen Zuspruch und ihr Hass wird geteilt. Dennoch ist Hass kein mediales, sondern ein gesamtgesellschaftliches Problem. Die Schering Stiftung und die Stiftung Brandenburger Tor widmen dieser Thematik am 21. April 2017 gemeinsam einen Gesprächsabend.

Sprecher_Was_uns_auseinandertreibt

Weiterlesen...

   

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2016

02.01.2016, Berlin | Wie bestimmt die innere Uhr meinen Tagesrhythmus? Was lebt in der Tiefsee? Können Pflanzen kommunizieren? Diese und viele andere Fragen beantworten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus so unterschiedlichen Disziplinen wie der Meeresbiologie, Ökologie, Chronobiologie und Psychologie in der Vortragsreihe „Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal“ im Museum für Naturkunde Berlin. Sie entführen uns in fremde Welten, lösen Rätsel der Natur und veranschaulichen abstrakte Phänomene.

Die Vortragsreihe „Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal“ ist ein Kooperationsprojekt der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, des Museums für Naturkunde Berlin und der Schering Stiftung. Gemeinsam laden wir Sie an acht Abenden ein, sich im Ambiente des Sauriersaals in die faszinierende Welt der Wissenschaft entführen zu lassen. Im Anschluss an die Vorträge haben Sie die Möglichkeit zu einem exklusiven Besuch des Museums bis 22 Uhr.

Sauriersaal

Weiterlesen...

   

STATE of Emotion – The Sentimental Machine

21.10.2016, Berlin | Emotionen sind eine wesentliche Quelle unserer persönlichsten Erfahrungen und Handlungsmotivationen sowie ein zentrales Element unserer Interaktion mit anderen. Sie gelten gemeinhin als Essenz dessen, was uns als Menschen und als Individuen ausmacht. Unter dem Titel „STATE of Emotion – The Sentimental Machine“ präsentiert das diesjährige STATE Festival vom 3. bis 5. November 2016 in Berlin die neuesten Entwicklungen und Arbeiten an der Schnittstelle aktueller Gefühlsforschung und künstlicher Intelligenz. Das Festival schafft einen offenen, partizipativen und interdisziplinären Begegnungsraum für Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit, für wissenschaftliche Forschung und künstlerischen Ausdruck.

State Festival, (c) STATE Festival, Montebelo, Grafikladen

Weiterlesen...

   

Symposium „The Evolution of Medicine to Evolutionary Medicine“

24.10.2016, Berlin | Die Evolutionäre Medizin beleuchtet die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Umwelteinflüssen und der genetischen Ausstattung des Menschen sowie zwischen der Evolution von Krankheiten und der Suszeptibilität. Dabei schlägt sie den Bogen von der Evolutionsbiologie zur Medizin und bezieht Themen ein, die in beiden Fächern eine große Rolle spielen, wie z.B. die Epidemiologie, Infektionskrankheiten oder die Evolution von Krankheitsgenen. Ziel ist es, die Funktionsweise von Krankheiten zu verstehen und die evolutionären Ursachen zu ergründen. Denn diese Erkenntnisse können einen wichtigen Beitrag in der biomedizinischen Forschung leisten. Um neue Brücken zwischen der Evolutionsbiologie und der Medizin zu schlagen, veranstaltet das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin am 10. November 2016 das Symposium „The Evolution of Medicine to Evolutionary Medicine“.

iri_logo_220x120

Weiterlesen...

   

Öffentliche Vorlesung über Molekulare Chaperone

13.09.2016, Berlin | Proteine übernehmen vielfältige essenzielle Aufgaben in allen Zellen unseres Körpers. Doch um ihre biologische Funktion ausüben zu können, müssen sich die kettenartigen Moleküle erst zu komplexen, dreidimensionalen Strukturen falten. Zunächst wurde angenommen, dass dieser Prozess spontan abläuft. Erst die Arbeiten von Prof. Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl, Direktor der Abteilung Zelluläre Biochemie am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried, machten klar, dass die Proteinfaltung in der Zelle durch sog. Chaperone vermittelt wird. Falsch gefaltete Proteine können sich zu Klumpen zusammenlagern, die für die Zelle und den Organismus gefährlich werden. Bei verschiedenen neurodegenerativen Krankheiten wie Alzheimerdemenz und Chorea Huntington sammeln sich solche Aggregate an. Diese Erkenntnis bietet die Chance auf neuartige Therapieansätze.

Am 23. September 2016 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit der Freien Universität Berlin eine öffentliche Vorlesung mit Prof. Dr. Hartl. Unter dem Titel "Molecular Chaperones: Their Role in Protein Folding and Neurodegenerative Disease" spricht er über seine Forschungergebnisse und aktuelle Forschungsansätze. Interessierte sind herzlich eingeladen.

Franz-Ulrich Hartl_Foto: Axel Griesch, MPI für Biochemie

 

Film-Icon_Cartoon

Film über Prof. Hartls Forschung

Weiterlesen...

   

European Students‘ Conference 2016

01.09.2016, Berlin |Facing Antimicrobial Resistance – Research Revolution Wanted“ – so lautet das Thema der 27. European Students Conference (ESC) vom 28. September bis 1. Oktober 2016 im Virchow-Klinikum der Charité Berlin. Die ESC greift die Thematik der weltweit rasant wachsenden antimikrobiellen Resistenzen auf und wirft einen genauen Blick auf die Ursachen und Folgen der abnehmenden Wirksamkeit antibiotischer Therapien. Während Ende der 1960er Jahre der Krieg gegen Infektionskrankheiten weitgehend als gewonnen galt, hat sich in den letzten Jahren herausgestellt, dass dieses Kapitel noch keineswegs abgeschlossen ist.

European Students' Conference

Weiterlesen...

   

Schutzimpfungen: Globale Konsequenzen individueller Entscheidungen

01.09.2016, Berlin | Am 16. September 2016 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin zu einer Vortragsveranstaltung über Schutzimpfungen mit Prof. Dr. Lothar H. Wieler, Direktor des Robert Koch-Instituts in Berlin, und PD Dr. Cornelia Betsch von der Universität Erfurt. Die Referenten beschäftigen sich mit der Bereitschaft der Menschen, Schutzimpfungen in Anspruch zu nehmen und den globalen Konsequenzen individueller Impfentscheidungen.

(c) Dirk Brockmann, RKI

Weiterlesen...

   

Salon der Komischen Oper und der Schering Stiftung

Im Foyer der Komischen Oper Berlin treffen auch in dieser Spielzeit Kunst auf Wissenschaft und Theorie auf Unterhaltung. Die Komische Oper Berlin und die Schering Stiftung setzen ihre erfolgreiche Kooperation fort und veranstalten in Anbindung an den aktuellen Spielplan vier abendliche Salongespräche mit renommierten Wissenschaftlern und Wissenschaftlerinnen zu Themen, die sowohl die Wissenschaft als auch die Opernwelt bewegen. Zu einer spielerischen und lockeren Diskussionssituation, wie sie die Salons des 19. Jahrhunderts prägte, tragen eine variierende Gesprächsdramaturgie und verschiedene künstlerische Interventionen bei, die jeweils auf das Thema des Abends abgestimmt sind.

Lounge_Komische_Oper_Foto_Jan_Windszus

Weiterlesen...

   

Psychische Störungen - Grenzen zwischen Krankheit und Gesundheit

11.05.2016, Berlin | Die Würde des Menschen in seiner Einzigartigkeit fordert jeden von uns tagtäglich heraus: Wir nehmen Abweichungen vom erwarteten Verhalten wahr und bewerten sie. Dabei ist der Grat zwischen Wahn und Genie, zwischen Melancholie und Depression oft schmal. Die Schering Stiftung und die Stiftung Brandenburger Tor widmeten dieser Thematik am 21. April 2016 einen Gesprächsabend, in dem die Grenze zwischen Krankheit und Gesundheit definiert und erörtert wurde, wie zeit- und kulturgebunden psychiatrische Krankheitskonzepte und Diagnosen sind. Wie tolerant sollte unsere Gesellschaft sein und können Voraussetzungen benannt werden, die den Betroffenen helfen, ihren Platz in dieser zu finden?

Weitere Informationen zu der Veranstaltung können Sie in der Zusammenfassung nachlesen.

Jacobi - Rotzoll - Linke

Fotos der Veranstaltung

 

Zusammenfassung des Gesprächsabends

pdf Zusammenfassung

Weiterlesen...

   

Die Seele ist ein Oktopus

27.04.2016, Berlin | Woraus besteht die Seele, wie steuert sie den menschlichen Körper und wo ist ihr Sitz? Mit diesen Fragen beschäftigt sich die Ausstellung „Die Seele ist ein Oktopus. Antike Vorstellungen vom belebten Körper“, die vom 11. Mai bis 11. September 2016 im Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museum der Charité Berlin zu sehen ist. Es werden zentrale antike Auffassungen von körperlichen und seelischen Vorgängen vorgestellt, die von Medizinern und Philosophen zwischen 500 vor und 500 nach Christus entwickelt wurden, und in Beziehung zu unseren heutigen Vorstellungen gesetzt.

Die Seele ist ein Oktopus

Weiterlesen...

   

Seite 2 von 6

<< Start < Zurück 1 2 3 4 5 6 Weiter > Ende >>

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr