Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Dialogue with Science

Science makes an important contribution to the development of our society. In the public perception, however, it embodies not only progress but is also felt to be a threat to human safety and security. The more the sciences noticeably change the conditions of our lives, the more they are called upon to enter into a constructive dialogue with society. In order to enable citizens to actively participate in this discussion, it requires a broad science education and an understanding of scientific research. The Ernst Schering Foundation pursues these objectives through a variety of initiatives. It organizes and supports science lectures for a wider audience, holds public discussions and symposia on controversial scientific topics, and promotes science communication in Germany. As part of its programs on science education, it helps get children and young people excited about science at an early age.


European Conference of Life Science Funders and Foundations

05.04.2016, Berlin / Heidelberg | The 21st century has been widely proclaimed as the “century of the life sciences.” Their impact is expected to profoundly alter the way we live. Not only will the life sciences reshuffle the demographic and individual outlook of Western societies as they help us live longer and better, they also address the other big challenges of mankind – understanding the complexities and preserving the variety of life on our planet, climate change, famine, as well as ecological and safe energy resources. The first European Conference of Life Science Funders and Foundations on April 26–27 at EMBL Heidelberg, funded by the Ernst Schering Foundation, will explore opportunities to positively influence and accelerate the necessary discoveries and their transformation into applications that benefit us all.

EMBL

Read more...

   

Bodily Self-Consciousness: From Out-of-Body Experiences to Neuroprosthetics

05.02.2016, Berlin | On March 18, 2016, at 6:30 p.m., the Ernst Schering Foundation will host a lecture by the Swiss neuroscientist Prof. Dr. Olaf Blanke entitled “Bodily Self-Consciousness” at the Tieranatomische Theater of Humboldt University Berlin. With explicit reference to the artworks, scientific experiments, and curiosities shown as part of the exhibition MIRROR IMAGES (on view through April 3 at the Berlin Museum of Medical History at the Charité), Professor Blanke will talk about the scientific background and multi-sensor brain mechanisms of self-consciousness.

Olaf Blanke

Read more...

   

Sustainable Aging: Biological Mechanisms – Social Effects

15.02.2016, Berlin | On February 19, 2016, the Integrative Research Institute for the Life Sciences (IRI) at Berlin’s Humboldt University presents a lecture on “Sustainable Aging” by Prof. Dr. Lenhard Rudolph and Prof. Denis Gerstorf. Prof. Rudolph will look at aging from a biological perspective by discussing the causes, processes, and consequences of stem cell aging in mammals. Taking a sociological view on aging, Prof. Gerstorf will present the results of the “Berlin Aging Study II” that investigated trends of human aging against the background of sociocultural developments.

Lenhard Rudolph und Denis Gerstorf

 

Read more...

   

Winners of the Fast Forward Science 2015 Web Video Competition Announced

02.11.2015, Berlin | What does our world consist of? Does it even exist or are we being deceived? What makes energy renewable? And why is it crucial for our planet’s survival? These and other brilliant questions are answered by the winners of the web video competition Fast Forward Science with the aid of their videos on current scientific research. From a total of 109 submissions, the jury chose the prize winners in three categories. In addition, the Community Award was given to the audience favorites among the finalists. On December 1, 2015, the winners of the 20,000-euro competition will be honored as part of the 8th Forum on Science Communication in Nuremberg.

FFWD_Jahresbanner_2015

Read more...

   

European Students’ Conference 2015

26.08.2015, Berlin | “Science or Fiction? – Imagine the future of medicine” is the title of the 26th European Students’ Conference, which is supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation for the fourth time. What seemed science fiction a few years ago is now being translated into clinical routine: Together with outstanding experts in the field the ESC wants to think outside the box and investigate new perspectives in modern medicine. How can future doctors and scientists meet the promises and perils of the coming medical revolution? What is the role of young professionals in the exciting era of evolving technologies and personalized medicine? These questions will be discussed at the conference that takes place on September 23–26 at the Virchow Clinic of the Charité Berlin.

European Students Conference

Read more...

   

Panel Discussion: Fighting Heart Attacks and Leukemia with Stem Cells

26.08.2015, Berlin, Frankfurt/Main | Can stem cells deliver on our expectations for cure? What is the latest progress in research? What diseases are already treated with cell-based therapies? And what does the process from stem-cell research to long-term studies to the clinical application of stem cells look like? During the 3rd International Annual Conference of the German Stem Cell Network (GSCN) at Goethe University Frankfurt, three stem cell researchers will talk about their findings during a public panel discussion on September 11, 2015.


Read more...

   

Humboldt University Says Goodbye to Horst Bredekamp

24.06.2015, Berlin | On July 17, 2015, Horst Bredekamp, long-time professor of art history at Humboldt University and one of the most renowned art historians in the world, will be honored by a festive retirement conference organized by the Institute of Art and Visual Studies and the university’s president’s office. Entitled “Looking Back to Look Forward,” the conference pays tribute to his groundbreaking work in the past and present. Professor Bredekamp will enter another creative period as a member of the foundation committee of the Humboldt Forum and will continue to serve as a spokesperson of the Image Knowledge Gestaltung cluster of excellence.

Horst Bredekamp

Read more...

   

Public Lecture on Green Genetic Engineering

28.05.2015, Berlin | Given a steadily growing world population and increasingly limited resources, it is necessary to adopt new ways of economic production to feed the global population. The cultivation of genetically modified crops, which has been well established for some 25 years, and their use as food or animal feedstuff are subject to controversial discussions in politics and society. In this context, it is becoming apparent that the public perceptions of safety and risks are not at all based on current scientific knowledge. To show how the biological safety research navigates between current scientific insights, legal regulations, and social controversy, the Integrative Research Institute for the Life Sciences (IRI) at Humboldt University of Berlin, on June 16, 2015, presents a lecture by Prof. Dr. Joachim Schiemann from the Julius Kuehn Institute.

Joachim Schiemann

Read more...

   

8. Berlin Summer Meeting

28.05.2015, Berlin | On June 4-8, 2015, the 8th Berlin Summer Meeting takes place in Berlin with support from the Ernst Schering Foundation. This international conference under the umbrella title “Computational and Experimental Molecular Biology Meet” was initiated in 2008 by the Berlin Institute for Medical Systems Biology at the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in Berlin-Buch and has since been held annually with great success. This year, the event is organized in cooperation with the Integrative Research Institute (IRI) for the Life Sciences at Humboldt University of Berlin. Featuring international speakers, it explores the topic of “Localization of Cellular Processes.”

Marta_Rodriguez_2014

Read more...

   

FameLab 2015 “Talking Science” - Final

10.04.2015, Berlin | Themed “Talking Science,” the German regional heats of the prestigious international FameLab competition for young scientists took place in March 2015. FameLab was started by Cheltenham Festivals in 2005 to identify and nurture scientists and engineers who are good at communicating with the general public. In just three minutes, the contestants explain scientific processes to a non-specialist audience in an accessible and entertaining manner - without PowerPoint or notes. The finalists have been selected and will compete against each other on May 13, 2015, at Tollhaus Karlsruhe.

FameLab

Read more...

   

Page 3 of 6

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > End >>

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Dialog mit der Wissenschaft

Die Wissenschaft trägt wesentlich zur Entwicklung unserer Gesellschaft bei. Sie verkörpert in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung jedoch nicht nur den Fortschritt, sondern wird oft auch als Bedrohung der menschlichen Sicherheit empfunden. Je mehr die Wissenschaften individuell spürbar die Bedingungen des Lebens verändern, umso mehr sind sie auch aufgefordert, in einen konstruktiven Dialog mit der Gesellschaft einzutreten. Um den Bürger in die Lage zu versetzen, an dieser Diskussion aktiv teilzunehmen, bedarf es auch einer möglichst breiten wissenschaftlichen Grundbildung und eines Verständnisses wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Die Schering Stiftung setzt sich mit einer Reihe von Initiativen für diese Ziele ein. Sie veranstaltet und fördert wissenschaftliche Vortragsreihen, die sich an die breite Öffentlichkeit richten, führt öffentliche Diskussionen und Symposien zu kontroversen wissenschaftlichen Themen durch und fördert die Wissenschaftskommunikation in Deutschland. Im Rahmen ihrer Programme zur wissenschaftlichen Bildung leistet sie einen Beitrag dazu, Kinder und Jugendliche frühzeitig für Wissenschaft zu begeistern.


European Conference of Life Science Funders and Foundations

05.04.2016, Berlin / Heidelberg | Das 21. Jahrhundert ist weithin zum „Jahrhundert der Lebenswissenschaften“ erklärt worden. Man geht davon aus, dass sich unser Leben durch den Einfluss der Lebenswissenschaften tiefgreifend verändern wird. Nicht nur werden sich die westlichen Gesellschaften auf demografischer und individueller Ebene verändern, indem sie dazu beitragen, dass wir länger und besser leben. Sie gehen auch andere großen Herausforderungen der Menschheit an, indem sie z.B. das Leben auf unserem Planeten in seiner ganzen Komplexität und Vielfalt verstehen und bewahren wollen und sich mit Themen wie dem Klimawandel, Hunger, ökologischen und sicheren Energieressourcen beschäftigen. Mit Unterstützung der Schering Stiftung will die erste European Conference of Life Science Funders and Foundations am 26. und 27. April am EMBL Heidelberg Möglichkeiten erkunden, wie man die erforderlichen Entdeckungen positiv beeinflussen und schneller in Anwendungen umsetzen kann, die für alle von Nutzen sind.

EMBL

Weiterlesen...

   

Körperliches Ich-Bewusstsein: Von außerkörperlichen Erfahrungen zu Neuroprothesen

05.02.2016, Berlin | Am 18. März 2016, um 18:30 Uhr, veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung im Tieranatomischen Theater der HU Berlin einen Vortragsabend mit dem Schweizer Neurowissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Olaf Blanke zum Thema „Körperliches Ich-Bewusstsein“. Bezugnehmend auf die in der Ausstellung MIRROR IMAGES (zu sehen bis zum 3. April im Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museum der Charité) gezeigten künstlerischen Arbeiten, wissenschaftlichen Experimente und kuriosen Objekte wird Professor Blanke die wissenschaftlichen Hintergründe und die multisensorischen Mechanismen im Gehirn zum Ich-Bewusstsein erklären.

Olaf Blanke

Weiterlesen...

   

Sustainable Aging: Biological Mechanisms – Social Effects

15.02.2016, Berlin | On February 19, 2016, the Integrative Research Institute for the Life Sciences (IRI) at Berlin’s Humboldt University presents a lecture on “Sustainable Aging” by Prof. Dr. Lenhard Rudolph and Prof. Denis Gerstorf. Prof. Rudolph will look at aging from a biological perspective by discussing the causes, processes, and consequences of stem cell aging in mammals. Taking a sociological view on aging, Prof. Gerstorf will present the results of the “Berlin Aging Study II” that investigated trends of human aging against the background of sociocultural developments.

Lenhard Rudolph und Denis Gerstorf

 

Weiterlesen...

   

Gewinner des Webvideo-Wettbewerbs Fast Forward Science 2015 stehen fest

02.11.2015, Berlin | Woraus besteht unsere Welt? Gibt es sie überhaupt oder werden wir nur getäuscht? Was macht Energie erneuerbar? Und warum ist sie überlebenswichtig für unseren Planeten? Diese und andere furiose Fragen beantworten Gewinner des Webvideo-Wettbewerbs Fast Forward Science in ihren Wissenschaftsvideos zu aktueller Forschung. Aus 109 Beiträgen hat eine Jury die Preisträger in drei Kategorien gewählt. Außerdem wurden die Publikumslieblinge unter den Finalisten mit dem Community Award ausgezeichnet. Am 1. Dezember 2015 werden die Gewinner des mit insgesamt 20.000 Euro dotierten Wettbewerbs im Rahmen des 8. Forums Wissenschaftskommunikation in Nürnberg geehrt.

FFWD_Jahresbanner_2015

Weiterlesen...

   

European Students Conference 2015

26.08.2015, Berlin | „Science or Fiction? – Imagine the Future of Medicine“ – so lautet das Thema der 26. European Students Conference (ESC), welche die Schering Stiftung bereits zum 4. Mal fördert. Was vor wenigen Jahren noch wie Science Fiction wirkte, findet nun Eingang in den klinischen Alltag: Zusammen mit prominenten Experten soll auf der ESC kreativ und unkonventionell über neue Perspektiven in der modernen Medizin nachgedacht werden. Wie können angehende Ärzte und Wissenschaftler den Verheißungen und Gefahren der medizinischen Revolution der Zukunft begegnen? Welche Rolle spielen Nachwuchswissenschaftler in dieser aufregenden Zeit der fortschreitenden technologischen Entwicklung und personalisierten Medizin? Diesen Fragen widmet sich die Konferenz vom 23. bis 26. September im Virchow-Klinikum der Charité Berlin.

European Students Conference

Weiterlesen...

   

Podiumsdiskussion: Mit Stammzellen gegen Herzinfarkt und Blutkrebs

26.08.2015, Berlin, Frankfurt a. Main | Bringen Stammzellen die Heilung, die von ihnen erwartet wird? Welche Fortschritte gibt es in der Forschung? Bei welchen Erkrankungen kommen zellenbasierte Therapien schon zur Anwendung? Und wie sieht der Weg von der Erforschung der Stammzellen über langjährige Studien bis hin zu ihrem klinischen Einsatz aus? Anlässlich der 3. Internationalen Jahreskonferenz des German Stem Cell Network (GSCN) an der Goethe Universität Frankfurt am Main werden am 11. September 2015 drei Stammzellforscher in einer öffentlichen Podiumsdiskussion ihre Forschung vorstellen.


Weiterlesen...

   

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin verabschiedet Horst Bredekamp

24.06.2015, Berlin | Horst Bredekamp, langjähriger Inhaber der Professur für Mittlere und Neuere Kunstgeschichte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und einer der international renommiertesten Kunsthistoriker, wird am 17. Juli 2015 vom Institut für Kunst- und Bildgeschichte sowie dem Präsidium der Universität mit einer Tagung feierlich verabschiedet. Unter dem Titel „Looking Back to Look Forward“ würdigt die Humboldt-Universität sein bahnbrechendes Wirken in der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart. Professor Bredekamp tritt in eine weitere Schaffensphase mit der Gründungsintendanz am Humboldt-Forum und fungiert weiterhin als Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters Bild Wissen Gestaltung.

Horst Bredekamp

Weiterlesen...

   

Öffentlicher Vortrag zu Grüner Gentechnik

28.05.2015, Berlin | Mit einer stetig wachsenden Weltbevölkerung und knapper werdenden Ressourcen müssen neue Wege in der wirtschaftlichen Produktion zur Ernährung der Weltbevölkerung bestritten werden. Der seit gut 25 Jahren weltweit erfolgreich etablierte Anbau gentechnisch veränderter Pflanzen und deren Nutzung als Lebens- oder Futtermittel werden in Politik und Gesellschaft höchst kontrovers diskutiert. Dabei zeigt sich, dass das Sicherheitsgefühl und die Risikowahrnehmung keineswegs auf der wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnislage beruhen. Um aufzuzeigen, in welchem Spannungsfeld sich die biologische Sicherheitsforschung zwischen aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen, gesetzlichen Regularien und gesellschaftlicher Kontroverse bewegt, lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin am 16. Juni 2015 zu einem Vortrag von Prof. Dr. Joachim Schiemann vom Julius Kühn Institut ein.

Joachim Schiemann

Weiterlesen...

   

8. Berlin Summer Meeting

28.05.2015, Berlin | Vom 4. bis 8. Juni 2015 findet in Berlin mit Unterstützung der Schering Stiftung das 8. Berlin Summer Meeting statt. Das Treffen ist eine jährlich stattfindende internationale Konferenz mit dem übergreifenden Titel „Computational and Experimental Molecular Biology Meet“. Die Veranstaltungsreihe wurde 2008 durch das Berlin Institute für Medical Systems Biology am Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin Berlin-Buch ins Leben gerufen . In diesem Jahr wird die Veranstaltung in Kooperation mit dem IRI für Lebenswissenschaften der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin organisiert. Im Mittelpunkt steht das Thema „Localization of cellular processes", das durch nationale Experten und internationale Sprecher präsentiert wird und als Diskussionsforum insbesondere auch für Nachwuchswissenschaftler gilt.

Marta_Rodriguez_2014

Weiterlesen...

   

FameLab 2015 „Talking Science“ - Finale

10.04.2015, Berlin | Unter dem Motto „Talking Science“ fanden im März die regionalen Vorentscheide des renommierten internationalen Wettbewerbs FameLab 2015 in Deutschland statt. Cheltenham Festivals entwickelte FameLab im Jahr 2005, um Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure, die mit öffentlichem Publikum gut kommunizieren können, zu finden und zu fördern. In nur drei Minuten erklären die Wettbewerber einem Laienpublikum ohne Power-Point oder Notizen wissenschaftliche Vorgänge, verständlich und mit Witz. Nun stehen die Finalisten fest, die am 13. Mai 2015 im Tollhaus Karlsruhe gegeneinander antreten.

FameLab

Weiterlesen...

   

Seite 3 von 6

<< Start < Zurück 1 2 3 4 5 6 Weiter > Ende >>

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr