Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Dialogue with Science

Science makes an important contribution to the development of our society. In the public perception, however, it embodies not only progress but is also felt to be a threat to human safety and security. The more the sciences noticeably change the conditions of our lives, the more they are called upon to enter into a constructive dialogue with society. In order to enable citizens to actively participate in this discussion, it requires a broad science education and an understanding of scientific research. The Ernst Schering Foundation pursues these objectives through a variety of initiatives. It organizes and supports science lectures for a wider audience, holds public discussions and symposia on controversial scientific topics, and promotes science communication in Germany. As part of its programs on science education, it helps get children and young people excited about science at an early age.


Microbiologists from Bremen have won the 2012 “Science Interactive” Competition

The Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology in Bremen has won the 10,000-euro “Science Interactive” competition. The winner project takes visitors on a trip through the world of bacteria. At four interactive stations, they learn what role the microorganisms play for life on earth and how they can be used, e.g., to produce and convert substances. Teams from Bremen, Münster, and Leipzig travelled to the Science Summer in Lübeck to submit their entries to the audience vote.

Wissenschaft interaktiv 2012

Read more...

   

CMG-Lecture on Ancient Medicine 2012

26.04.2012, Berlin | The long-term project “Galen of Pergamon. The Transmission, Interpretation and Completion of Ancient Medicine” at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities invites you to the 4th “CMG Lecture on Ancient Medicine” on May 22. The lecture series aims to present selected topics in ancient medicine, and their current relevance, to a broader public. This year’s guest speaker will be Vivian Nutton, Member of the British Academy and the German Academy of Natural Scientists Leopoldina.

Galen

Read more...

   

How does innovation work? – Innovation development in Germany

24.04.2012, Berlin | Innovation literally means „novelty“ or „renewal“. The „new“ is much in demand in many social fields but it is most important in science. Jürgen Mittelstraß and Harald zur Hausen will discuss the question „How does innovation work?“ at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW ) on May 7, 2012, at 6pm. The lecture and discussion is hosted by the Ernst Schering Foundation in cooperation with the BBAW in order to foster an interdisciplinary dialogue on innovation development.

Read more...

   

4th Forum on Science Communication in Cologne

On December 6-8, 2011, the Gürzenich in Cologne hosted the 4th Forum on Science Communication. With this annual symposium, “Science in Dialogue” (Wissenschaft im Dialog, WiD), a joint initiative of major German research and science organizations, provides science and research communicators with a survey of current issues and strategies in science communication. This year’s topic was science communication between the conflicting demands of politics, society, and science.

Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation 2011

Read more...

   

World Health Summit 2011 | October 23 - 26, 2011 at the Charité

On October 23-26, 2011, the Campus Charité Mitte of the Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin hosted the third World Health Summit. Under the auspices of German Chancellor Angela Merkel and French President Nicolas Sarkozy, 1200 leading international experts from medicine, science, government, business, and civil society gathered under the guiding theme „Today’s Science – Tomorrow’s Agenda“. The Ernst Schering Foundation supported the World Health Summit 2011 again as an important international forum for discussing the 21st century’s global challenges in the fields of health and research.

101005_World_Health_Summit_2010_WEB

Read more...

   

Air, Water, Soil, Life – Earth and Environmental Sciences Research for Our Health

On September 27, 2011, the GeoUnion Alfred Wegener Foundation presented new Earth science findings in health research at an interdisciplinary conference at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. As part of the “Science Year 2011 – Research for Our Health,” it seeked to create awareness for the various ways that our environment impacts on our health.

Air Water Soil Life

Read more...

   

22nd European Students’ Conference | “Perspectives and Challenges in Regenerative Medicine”

Focusing on “Perspectives and Challenges in Regenerative Medicine,” 700 young scientists from more than 60 countries gathered at the 22nd European Students’ Conference in Berlin on September 21-24. The largest biomedical conference for young scientists and doctors in Europe, the conference featured renowned researchers from the United States, Japan and Germany who were talking about serious illnesses such as diabetes mellitus, cardiac insufficiency, Parkinson’s disease and HIV and report on new treatment approaches to these diseases. European Students Conference

Read more...

   

"Science Interactive Competition 2011" | Team from Kiel Wins Audience Award

05.07.2011, Berlin | A team composed of scientists and PR experts from Kiel is the winner of the 10,000-euro “2011 Science Interactive” award, sponsored by the Ernst Schering Foundation. Following an exciting finale at the Science Summer in Mainz, during which visitors and school groups took an active part, the team from the Kiel Campus of the Schleswig-Holstein University Medical Center (USKH) beat the two other finalists from Berlin. The competition entry by the Kiel-based team provides insights into the functioning and structure of the skin. Wissenschft interaktiv

Read more...

   

CMG-Lecture on Ancient Medicine 2011

The long-term project “Galen of Pergamon. The Transmission, Interpretation and Completion of Ancient Medicine” at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities invited to the 3rd “CMG Lecture on Ancient Medicine.” The lecture series aims to present selected topics in ancient medicine, and their current relevance, to a broader public. This year’s guest speaker was Sir Geoffrey Lloyd, Needham Research Institute, Cambridge, who gave a talk about “The Scientificity of Ancient Medicine” at the BBAW on March 17, 2011, at 6:30 p.m. The lecture was made possible by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

CMG Lecture 2011

Read more...

   

3rd Forum on Science Communication in Mannheim

From November 29 until December 1, 2010, the Congress Center Rosengarten in Mannheim hosted the 3rd Forum on Science Communication, which was again supported and co-conceptualized by the Ernst Schering Foundation. With this Forum, Science in Dialogue (Wissenschaft im Dialog; WiD), an initiative of the major German science and research organizations, provides science and research communicators with an overview of current trends and strategies in science communication.

Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation 2009

Read more...

   

Page 5 of 6

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > End >>

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Dialog mit der Wissenschaft

Die Wissenschaft trägt wesentlich zur Entwicklung unserer Gesellschaft bei. Sie verkörpert in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung jedoch nicht nur den Fortschritt, sondern wird oft auch als Bedrohung der menschlichen Sicherheit empfunden. Je mehr die Wissenschaften individuell spürbar die Bedingungen des Lebens verändern, umso mehr sind sie auch aufgefordert, in einen konstruktiven Dialog mit der Gesellschaft einzutreten. Um den Bürger in die Lage zu versetzen, an dieser Diskussion aktiv teilzunehmen, bedarf es auch einer möglichst breiten wissenschaftlichen Grundbildung und eines Verständnisses wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Die Schering Stiftung setzt sich mit einer Reihe von Initiativen für diese Ziele ein. Sie veranstaltet und fördert wissenschaftliche Vortragsreihen, die sich an die breite Öffentlichkeit richten, führt öffentliche Diskussionen und Symposien zu kontroversen wissenschaftlichen Themen durch und fördert die Wissenschaftskommunikation in Deutschland. Im Rahmen ihrer Programme zur wissenschaftlichen Bildung leistet sie einen Beitrag dazu, Kinder und Jugendliche frühzeitig für Wissenschaft zu begeistern.


Bremer Mikrobiologen gewinnen „Wissenschaft interaktiv 2012”

Den mit 10.000 Euro dotierten Preis „Wissenschaft interaktiv 2012“ hat ein Team von Wissenschaftlern und PR-Experten aus Bremen gewonnen. In diesem Jahr stand die Nachhaltigkeitsforschung im Mittelpunkt des Wettbewerbs. Der Wettbewerbsbeitrag vom Bremer Max-Planck-Institut für Marine Mikrobiologie führt die Besucher in die Welt der Mikroorganismen. An vier interaktive Stationen macht er deutlich, warum die Mikroorganismen trotz ihrer geringen Größe dennoch die größten Chemiker der Natur sind, welche Rolle sie im Alltag und für Klima und Umwelt spielen und wie sie zum Beispiel zur Gewinnung und Umwandlung von Stoffen genutzt werden können.

Wissenschaft interaktiv 2012

Weiterlesen...

   

CMG-Lecture on Ancient Medicine 2012

26.04.2012, Berlin | Das altertumswissenschaftliche Akademienvorhaben “Galen als Vermittler, Interpret und Vollender der antiken Medizin“ an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften lädt am 22.05.2012 zur 4. „CMG-Lecture on Ancient Medicine“ ein. Die Vorlesungsreihe hat zum Ziel, ausgewählte Themenbereiche der antiken Medizin und ihre aktuelle Relevanz einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit vorzustellen. Diesjähriger Gastredner ist Vivian Nutton, Mitglied der British Academy und der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina.

Galen

Weiterlesen...

   

Wie funktioniert Innovation? – Innovationsentwicklung in Deutschland

Innovation heißt wörtlich „Neuerung“ oder „Erneuerung“. Das „Neue“ ist in vielen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen gefragt, aber in keinem Bereich so relevant wie in der Wissenschaft. Zum Thema „Wie funktioniert Innovation?“ sprachen am 7. Mai 2012 um 18 Uhr Jürgen Mittelstraß und Harald zur Hausen im Dialog mit Reinhard Kurth und Günter Stock in der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW). Die Gemeinschaftsveranstaltung der Schering Stiftung und der BBAW möchte den interdisziplinären Dialog zum Thema Innovationsentwicklung fördern.

Wie funktioniert Innovation?

Weiterlesen...

   

4. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation in Köln

Vom 6. bis 8. Dezember 2011 fand im Kölner Gürzenich das 4. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation statt. Mit dem Symposium bietet die Gemeinschaftsinitiative der deutschen Wissenschaft „Wissenschaft im Dialog (WiD)“ Vermittlern von Wissenschaft und Forschung jährlich einen Überblick über aktuelle Themen und Strategien in der Wissenschaftskommunikation. Thema in diesem Jahr: Kommunikation im Spannungsfeld von Politik, Gesellschaft und Wissenschaft.

Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation 2011

Weiterlesen...

   

World Health Summit 2011

Vom 23. bis 26. Oktober 2011 fand in der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Campus Charité Mitte der dritte World Health Summit statt. Unter der Schirmherrschaft von Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel und des französischen Staatspräsidenten Nicolas Sarkozy versammeln sich 1200 international führende Persönlichkeiten aus Politik, Wissenschaft, Industrie und Zivilgesellschaft unter dem Leitsatz „Today’s Science – Tomorrow’s Agenda“. Die Schering Stiftung förderte den World Health Summit im Jahr 2011 erneut als bedeutendes internationales Forum, in dem die globalen Herausforderungen für die medizinische Forschung und Gesundheitsversorgung des 21. Jahrhunderts diskutiert wurden.

World Health Summit

Weiterlesen...

   

Luft, Wasser, Erde, Leben – Geo- und Umweltforschung für unsere Gesundheit

Unter diesem Thema präsentierte die GeoUnion Alfred-Wegener-Stiftung in einer interdisziplinären Tagung am 27. September 2011 in der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften neue Erkenntnisse der Geowissenschaften zur Gesundheitsforschung. Im Rahmen des „Wissenschaftsjahrs 2011 – Forschung für unsere Gesundheit“ sollte so ein Bewusstsein dafür geschaffen werden, auf wie vielfältige Weise die Lebensumwelt des Menschen auf seine Gesundheit einwirkt.

Luft Wasser Erde Leben

Weiterlesen...

   

22nd European Students’ Conference | “Perspectives and Challenges in Regenerative Medicine”

Unter der Motto “Perspectives and Challenges in Regenerative Medicine” trafen sich vom 21. - 24. September 2011 700 junge Wissenschaftler aus über 60 Ländern zur 22. European Students’ Conference in Berlin. Auf der größten biomedizinischen Konferenz für junge Wissenschaftler und Ärzte in Europa referierten in diesem Jahr renommierte Forscher aus den USA, Japan und Deutschland zu schwerwiegenden Erkrankungen wie Diabetes mellitus, Herzinsuffizienz, Morbus Parkinson und HIV und zeigten neue Therapieansätze im Kampf gegen diese auf.

European Students Conference

Weiterlesen...

   

„Wissenschaft interaktiv“ 2011 | Team aus Kiel gewinnt Publikumspreis

Den von der Schering Stiftung geförderten und mit 10.000 Euro dotierten Preis „Wissenschaft interaktiv 2011“ hat ein Team von Wissenschaftlern und PR-Experten aus Kiel gewonnen: Nach einem spannenden Finale während des Wissenschaftssommers in Mainz mit reger Beteiligung von Besuchern und Schulklassen setzte sich das Team vom Universitätsklinikum Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel, gegen die zwei weiteren Finalisten aus Berlin durch. In ihrem Wettbewerbsbeitrag geben die Kieler einen Einblick in die Funktionsweise und den Aufbau der Haut.

Wissenschaft interaktiv 2011

Weiterlesen...

   

CMG-Lecture on Ancient Medicine 2011

Das altertumswissenschaftliche Akademienvorhaben “Galen als Vermittler, Interpret und Vollender der antiken Medizin“ an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW) lud zur 3. „CMG-Lecture on Ancient Medicine“ ein. Die Vorlesungsreihe hatte zum Ziel, ausgewählte Themenbereiche der antiken Medizin und ihre aktuelle Relevanz einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit vorzustellen. Der diesjährige Gastredner war Sir Geoffrey Lloyd, welcher am 17. März 2011 um 18.30 Uhr im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW zum Thema „The Scientificity of Ancient Medicine“ sprach. Die Lecture wurde von der Schering Stiftung ermöglicht.

CMG-Lecture_2011

Weiterlesen...

   

3. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation in Mannheim

Vom 29. November bis zum 1. Dezember 2010 fand im Congress Center Rosengarten in Mannheim das 3. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation statt, das erneut von der Schering Stiftung gefördert und inhaltlich mitgestaltet wurde. Mit dem Forum bietet die Initiative der deutschen Wissenschaft „Wissenschaft im Dialog“ (WiD) Vermittlern von Wissenschaft und Forschung einen Überblick über aktuelle Trends und Strategien in der Wissenschaftskommunikation.

Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation 2009

Weiterlesen...

   

Seite 5 von 6

<< Start < Zurück 1 2 3 4 5 6 Weiter > Ende >>

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr