Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Ernst Schering Foundation Art Award 2007

For the second time, the Ernst Schering Foundation presents its Art Award, which carries a prize money of 10,000 euro. While the award in 2005 was given to Cornelia Renz for her paintings, the Art Award 2007 honors exceptionally talented young artists working in the field of sculpture.


Nairy Baghramian

Art Award 2007 Award Recipient

Born in 1971 in Isfahan, lives and works in Berlin.

In Nairy Baghramian's sculptures, glass, metal and textile elements play a key role. Her work refers to the repertoire of modernist forms in architecture and design and fascinates by its perfect use of materials and proportions.

Read more...

   

Marco Schuler

Art Award 2007 Nominee

Born in 1972 in Bühl/Baden, lives and works in Munich.

Centering on the relationship of the human body to its spatial environment, Marco Schuler's artwork deals with this subject matter both performatively and sculpturally. For his objects, Schuler uses simple materials such as cardboard, wooden four-by-fours, canvas and tar. His sculptures make us feel the tension between the search for transcendence and an immediate physical-spatial experience.

Read more...

   

Michael Sailstorfer

Art Award 2007 Nominee

Born in 1979 in Velden/Vils, lives and works in Berlin.

Found objects of everyday life and their transformation are at the center of the work of Michael Sailstorfer. The things that he puts to new use through partly subtle, partly strong interventions are vehicles of the imaginary and always also meant to be themselves. Many of his works are designed to be performative and thus add a temporal aspect to the spatial dimension.

Read more...

   

Jan Bünnig

Art Award 2007 Nominee

Born in 1972 in Berlin, lives and works in Berlin.

Frequently combining found objects with fabricated materials, Jan Bünnig in his work aims to discover the unique in the everyday. The focus is not so much on the finished work but rather on the process, where the accidental and playful play an important role.

Read more...

   

Thorsten Brinkmann

Art Award 2007 Nominee

Born in 1969 in Herne, lives and works in Hamburg

For his sculptures and installations, Thorsten Brinkmann assembles everyday objects into new, unexpected constellations. The source material of his works is the things sorted out and thrown away in our industrialized consumer society. He is interested in the things themselves, in their formal qualities and in their history that can be read through traces of use.

Read more...

   

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Förderpreis Bildende Kunst 2007

Zum zweiten Mal vergibt die Schering Stiftung den mit 10 000 Euro dotierten Förderpreis Bildende Kunst. Nachdem der Preis 2005 an Cornelia Renz für ihr bildnerisches Werk verliehen wurde, werden mit dem Förderpreis 2007 besonders begabte junge Künstler ausgezeichnet, die mit dem Medium Skulptur arbeiten.


Nairy Baghramian

Förderpreis 2007 Preisträgerin

Geboren 1971 in Isfahan, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

In Nairy Baghramians Skulpturen spielen Glas und Metall sowie textile Elemente eine zentrale Rolle. Ihre Arbeiten verweisen auf das Formenrepertoire des Modernismus in Architektur und Design und faszinieren durch den perfekten Umgang mit Materialien und Proportionen.

 

Weiterlesen...

   

Marco Schuler

Förderpreis 2007 nominiert

Geboren 1972 in Bühl/Baden, lebt und arbeitet in München.

Im Zentrum der Kunst von Marco Schuler steht das Verhältnis des menschlichen Körpers zum Raum, das er sowohl in performativen als auch in skulpturalen Arbeiten thematisiert. Schuler verwendet für seine Objekte einfache Materialien wie Pappe, Holzlatten, Leinwand und Teer. In seinen Skulpturen wird eine Spannung spürbar zwischen der Suche nach Transzendenz und einer unmittelbaren körperlich-räumlichen Erfahrung.

Weiterlesen...

   

Michael Sailstorfer

Förderpreis 2007 nominiert

Geboren 1979 in Velden/Vils, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Die Dinge, die er durch teils subtile, teils markante Eingriffe einer neuen Nutzung zuführt, sind Vehikel des Imaginären und zugleich immer als sie selbst gemeint. Viele seiner Arbeiten sind performativ angelegt und erweitern so die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Raum um den Aspekt der Zeit.

Weiterlesen...

   

Jan Bünnig

Förderpreis 2007 nominiert

Geboren 1972 in Berlin, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Im Alltäglichen das Besondere zu entdecken, ist eine Aufgabe, die sich Jan Bünnig in seiner künstlerischen Arbeit stellt, in der er häufig vorgefundene Gegenstände mit bearbeiteten Materialien kombiniert. Im Mittelpunkt steht weniger das vollendete Werk als vielmehr der Prozess, in dem das Zufällige und Spielerische von großer Wichtigkeit sind.

Weiterlesen...

   

Thorsten Brinkmann

Förderpreis 2007 nominiert

Geboren 1969 in Herne, lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg.

Thorsten Brinkmann setzt für seine Skulpturen und Installationen alltägliche Gegenstände zu neuen, unerwarteten Konstellationen zusammen. Das Ausgangsmaterial seiner Arbeiten ist das Aussortierte und Weggeworfene unserer industrialisierten Warenwelt. Dem Künstler geht es um die Dinge an sich, um ihre formalen Qualitäten und ihre Geschichte, die sich anhand von Gebrauchsspuren ablesen lässt.

Weiterlesen...

   

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr

Weiter Schreiben. Ein literarisches Portal für AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten

02.03.2017, Berlin | Das Projekt „Weiter Schreiben“ veröffentlicht Texte von AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten und verleiht ihnen...
mehr