Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Ernst Schering Foundation Art Award 2005

On March 11, 2005, an exhibition featuring works by the five nominees for the Ernst Schering Foundation Art Award opened at the Berlinische Galerie on the occasion of the first awarding of the prize. Ten German institutions had been asked to propose one candidate each. According to the guidelines for the 2005 Award, the participating artists work mainly in the field of painting.

Already before the exhibition opening, the jury announced Cornelia Renz to be the recipient of the Ernst Schering Foundation Art Award 2005. The award carries a prize money of 10,000 euro.



Cornelia Renz

Art Award 2005 Award Recipient

In a very different way, Cornelia Renz deals with the subject matter of the childlike woman. Her paintings are no contemplative investigations of her psyche, but tell stories of action and communication, of aggression, violence and cruelty. She forces the viewer to confront these themes whose very over-representation in the media makes for their suppression and neutralization. Her works leave open whether she gives expression to the thoughts of the girls and young women or of the viewer or to an actually existing reality.

Read more...

   

Thomas Dillmann

Art Award 2005 Nominee

Thomas Dillmann In his work, Thomas Dillmann creates carefully composed, complex landscapes of mostly wide horizons, but also partial images of groups of buildings. Although his landscapes seem almost photorealistic, they refuse to be grasped. The paintings, which frequently appear to be shrouded in fog and are devoid of any human life, cause a feeling of unease in spite of their superficial "beauty." Reduced to their basic structure, the painstakingly composed paintings ask where and how human life was or will be able to take shape in these worlds.

Read more...

   

Justine Otto

Art Award 2005 Nominee

In her work, Justine Otto deals with the emotional worlds of children and adolescents. Characterized by bright colors, her paintings make the turmoil and turbulence of their feelings very immediate to the viewer. She thus provides an almost shamelessly intimate insight into the experiental world of children and adolescents. Her inscrutable depictions are posited against a behavior geared towards superficial representation, which is increasingly prevalent in today's information society.

Read more...

   

Markus Willeke

Art Award 2005 Nominee

Markus Willeke's works are (almost always) large format, formidable, powerful and of excessive urgency. His motifs, taken frequently from the film and media world, assault the viewer. Behind the mostly isolated motif hides the story, the context from which it is taken. Here, the impact left by the flood of images of the media world is most immediately translated.

Read more...

   

Jongsuk Yoon

Art Award 2005 Nominee

Jongsuk Yoon takes us back to the poetic, quiet expression of things. Her partly painted, partly embroidered works exude a subdued lightness. In spite of the carefully planned composition, in spite of the almost pedantic particularity of the embroidery, which determines or interferes with the motifs, she succeeds in achieving an openness and serenity of the mostly everyday scenes. In Yoon's paintings, life is serious, but not hard. It seems that what we have here is a happy union of European painterly traditions and aesthetic approaches from Asia.

Read more...

   

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Förderpreis Bildende Kunst 2005

Am 11. März 2005 eröffnete in der Berlinischen Galerie anlässlich der Preisverleihung des erstmals vergebenen Förderpreises Bildende Kunst der Schering Stiftung die Ausstellung der fünf nominierten Kandidaten. Zehn in Deutschland ansässige Institutionen waren gebeten worden, jeweils einen Kandidaten oder eine Kandidatin vorzuschlagen. Der Arbeitsschwerpunkt aller teilnehmenden Künstler lag, gemäß der Auswahlkriterien für das Jahr 2005, in der Malerei.

Bereits im Vorfeld der Ausstellung gab die Jury Cornelia Renz als Preisträgerin des Förderpreises Bildende Kunst der Schering Stiftung bekannt. Die Auszeichnung ist mit 10.000 Euro dotiert.



Cornelia Renz

Förderpreis 2005 Preisträgerin

Ganz anders greift Cornelia Renz das Thema der Kind-Frau auf. Ihre Bilder sind keine kontemplative Erforschung der Psyche, sondern erzählen Geschichten von Aktion und Kommunikation, von Aggression bis zu Gewalt und Grausamkeit. Sie zwingt den Betrachter zur Auseinandersetzung mit diesen Themen, die im selben Maß, in dem sie in den Medien über-präsent sind, verdrängt und neutralisiert werden. Ihre Arbeiten lassen offen, ob sie den Gedanken der Mädchen und jungen Frauen, des Betrachters oder einer tatsächlich existierenden Realität Ausdruck verleiht.

Weiterlesen...

   

Thomas Dillmann

Förderpreis 2005 nominiert

Thomas Dillmann schafft in seinem Werk akkurat komponierte, komplexe Landschaftsszenen von zumeist weit gefassten Horizonten, aber auch Teilbeobachtungen einzelner Gebäude­gruppen. Obwohl fast fotorealistisch anmutend, entziehen sie sich jeder Greifbarkeit. Die häufig wie vernebelt scheinenden Bilder, die bar jedes menschlichen Lebens sind, lösen trotz ihrer vordergründigen "Schönheit" Beklemmung aus. Denn die trotz ihrer detaillierten Ausarbeitung auf ihre Grund­strukturen reduzierten Bilder stellen die Frage, wo und wie in diesen Welten menschliches Leben war oder zukünftig gestaltet sein könnte.

Weiterlesen...

   

Justine Otto

Förderpreis 2005 nominiert

Justine Otto beschäftigt sich in ihren Bildern mit den Gefühlswelten von Kindern und Jugendlichen. In ihren von kräftigen Farben bestimmten Bildern meint man, den Aufruhr kindlicher Gefühle unmittelbar spüren zu können. So verschafft sie dem Betrachter einen fast schon schamlos intimen Einblick in deren Erlebniswelt. Ihre abgründigen Darstellungen stellt sie gegen ein vordergründiges, oberflächliches, auf Repräsentation gerichtetes Verhalten, das in der heutigen Informationsgesellschaft zunehmend anzutreffen ist.

Weiterlesen...

   

Markus Willeke

Förderpreis 2005 nominiert

Markus Willekes Arbeiten sind (fast immer) großformatig, gewaltig, kraftvoll und von überbordender Eindringlichkeit. Seine Motive, die häufig aus Szenen der Film- und Medienwelt entstanden sind, prallen dem Betrachter entgegen. Hinter dem meist isolierten Motiv verbirgt sich die Geschichte, der Kontext, dem es entnommen ist. Hier scheint der Eindruck, den die Bilderflut der medialen Welt hinterlässt, am unmittelbarsten umgesetzt zu sein.

Weiterlesen...

   

Jongsuk Yoon

Förderpreis 2005 nominiert

Jongsuk Yoon führt zurück zum poetischen, leisen Ausdruck der Dinge. Ihre teils gemalten, teils gestickten Arbeiten versprühen eine zurückhaltende Leichtigkeit. Es gelingt ihr, trotz sorgfältig durchdachter Komposition, trotz des schon fast pedantisch Kleinteiligen der Stickerei, welche die Bildmotive bestimmt oder überlagert, eine Offenheit und Heiterkeit der zumeist dem Alltag entnommenen Szenen zu erzielen. In Yoons Bildern ist das Leben ernst, aber nicht schwer. Es scheint, dass die europäische Maltradition mit den Ansätzen asiatischer Ästhetik hier eine glückliche Verbindung findet.

Weiterlesen...

   

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Am 1. Juni, um 19 Uhr, eröffnet in den KW Institute for Contemporary...
mehr