Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Art Collection

The Ernst Schering Foundation and the Berlin Museum of Prints and Drawings cooperate to build a collection of contemporary art on paper

Since July 2006, the Ernst Schering Foundation has an art collection of mostly Berlin-based artists from the collection of the Foundation’s corporate donor. As early as the 1960s, Schering AG began to purchase and commission works of art. During the take-over of Schering AG by Bayer AG in 2006, a part of the then existing art collection, together with the company museum, was transferred to the Ernst Schering Foundation as an endowment contribution.

In 2008, the Ernst Schering Foundation decided to continue expanding its art collection, from the perspective of its ties with Berlin. In October 2008, it signed a long-term cooperation agreement with Peter-Klaus Schuster, then director general of the State Museums of Berlin, to build a collection of contemporary works on paper. The Ernst Schering Foundation has since been acquiring drawings and prints by international artists working in or connected to Berlin for the Berlin Museum of Prints and Drawings. The works are on permanent loan to the State Museums of Berlin.

In 2013 the acquired art works were presented to the public for the first time in the exhibtion System and Sensuality. The Ernst Schering Foundation Collection – Contemporary Art from Tom Chamberlain to Jorinde Voigt at the Berlin Museum of Prints and Drawings.

Kunstsammlung der Schering Stiftung

 

Kunstsammlung der Schering Stiftung

Read more...

   

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Kunstsammlung

Die Schering Stiftung und das Berliner Kupferstichkabinett kooperieren beim Aufbau einer Sammlung zeitgenössischer Kunst auf Papier

Seit Juli 2006 ist die Schering Stiftung in Besitz einer Kunstsammlung vornehmlich Berliner Künstler aus der Sammlungstradition der Stifterin. Schon in den 60er Jahren begann die Schering AG, Kunstwerke anzukaufen oder als Auftragswerke zu erwerben. Im Rahmen der Übernahme der Schering AG durch die Bayer AG im Jahr 2006 wurde ein Teil der bis dahin entstandenen Kunstsammlung, gemeinsam mit dem Firmenmuseum, als Zustiftung an die Schering Stiftung übertragen.

Im Jahr 2008 initiierte die Schering Stiftung nun die Weiterführung ihrer Kunstsammlung unter dem Vorzeichen ihrer Verbundenheit mit Berlin. Mit dem damaligen Generaldirektor der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin, Peter-Klaus Schuster, wurde im Oktober 2008 eine langjährige Kooperation zum Aufbau einer Sammlung zeitgenössischer Arbeiten auf Papier beschlossen. Die Schering Stiftung erwirbt seitdem Zeichnungen und Druckgrafiken internationaler, in Berlin wirkender oder mit Berlin verbundener Künstler für das Berliner Kupferstichkabinett. Die Arbeiten verbleiben als "ewige" Dauerleihgabe der Stiftung im Bestand der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin.

Im Jahr 2013 wurden in der Ausstellung System und Sinnlichkeit. Die Sammlung Schering Stiftung – Zeitgenössische Zeichenkunst von Tom Chamberlain bis Jorinde Voigt erstmals die seit 2008 erworbenen Zeichnungen im Kupferstichkabinett präsentiert.

Kunstsammlung der Schering Stiftung

 

Kunstsammlung der Schering Stiftung

Weiterlesen...

   

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr

Bewerbungsstart: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017, Berlin | Im April 2018 startet erneut das etablierte Führungskräftetraining Young Leaders in Science, das...
mehr