Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Science & Art

The dialogue between disciplines – in particular between the sciences and the visual arts – has been burgeoning for years. Especially science institutions have discovered art as a medium to intelligibly communicate their specialized knowledge to a broader public. The Ernst Schering Foundation, however, is interested less in science communication than in a dialogue between artists and scientists at a more fundamental level. To this end, it launched the Forum on Science and Art as early as 2005. The Forum aims both for an exchange of methods and approaches and for a dialogue on socially relevant issues and topics.

In addition, the Foundation in 2009 opened the Project Space for Art and Science at Unter den Linden, which serves as a platform for exhibitions, lectures and workshops at the interface of science and art. One focus is on the presentation of "art as research."


Agnes Meyer-Brandis: Cloud Core Scanner – IN THE TROPOSPHERE LAB

Clouds, their formation and their substance, have long been a much-discussed topic in art and science. For artist Agnes Meyer-Brandis, it was thus a unique opportunity to be invited by the German Aerospace Center (DLR) to participate in one of its zero-g flights, which are primarily reserved for scientific purposes, and to work under conditions of temporary weightlessness on her art project “Cloud Core Scanner.” Now, On January 14, 2010, opens the exhibition "Cloud-Core-Scanner - IN THE TROPOSPHERE LAB" in the Ernst Schering Foundation. The exhibition is accompanied by a four-part academic lecture program in the field of aerosol research.

_MG_8360_Website

 

Read more...

   

Light Flashes and Brain Waves: Neurofeedback from an artistic and neurological point of view

The 6th Forum on Science and Art is all about Carsten Nicolai’s installation rota, which is presented in die project space of the Ernst Schering Foundation since July, 2. Dr. Ute Strehl from the Institute of Medical Psychology and Behavioral Neurobiology at the University of Tübingen talks about scientific insights into how the human brain responds to the flicker effect, the role of neurofeedback in the treatment of diseases such as epilepsy and AHDS, and potential future areas of application, e.g. in treating locked-in syndrome. Carsten Nicolai uses his installation rota as an example to talk about his artistic method.

Carsten Nicolai Web.jpg

Read more...

   

Symposium "Neuroscience and Art" at the Peggy Guggenheim Collection

In cooperation with the Marino Golinelli Foundation and the Ernst Schering Foundation, the Association of Neuroesthetics organizes a symposium on the theme of this year’s 53rd International Art Exhibition, “Fare Mondi/Making Worlds,” at the Peggy Guggenheim Collection in Venice. The roundtable discussion will bring together 25 international artists and neuroscientists for a discussion on how our brain actively “makes worlds.”

Read more...

   

Cooperation at a Crossroads? For Opportunities and Risks, Ask Your Artist or Scientist. Experts meet for a status workshop in Berlin on December 8-9, 2008

Art and science have always been interconnected by a history of uneasy yet productive relations. Since 2005, the “Forum on Science and Art” of the Ernst Schering Foundation has focused on the contemporary development of this interrelationship. After three years of interdisciplinary study and work, a status workshop now took stock of the current situation. At the invitation of the Ernst Schering Foundation, 35 scientists, curators, artists and art historians with a background in cultural studies met in Berlin on December 8-9, 2008 to take up the challenges of an increased cooperation between science and art.

27web.jpg

Read more...

   

Looking to Nature: Cooperation and Divergence between Art and Science

The 5th Forum on Science and Art is devoted to the young scientific discipline of bionics. The view to nature here refers to the discovery of structures and processes in the living world that can subsequently be used to solve technical problems in the natural and engineering sciences, but also in architecture and design. The focus here is on the systematic search for structural and organizational principles of the living world that can be applied to technological artefacts. In the arts, nature also continues to be a central category, though not as a model to imitate, but as a source of inspiration.

_MG_5863_Website.jpg

Read more...

   

Laboratories of Art and Science. Methodological Work in Artistic and Scientific Contexts

Artists have probably always been interested in the methodological approaches of scientists. Since the early 1990s it can be observed, however, that artists increasingly adapt scientific methodologies. By turning to contents and methodologies of other disciplines and contexts, artists more and more frequently tread on unfamiliar ground whose rules often contradict artistic processes.

Tolaas_Atelier.jpg

Read more...

   

The Image in Science and Art - Copy or Construction?

Until today, artists are seen as experts of everything visual, even though many art movements of the 20th century have labored to withdraw from the visual or replaced the visual by the conceptual. Still, many visualizing processes in science today are reminiscent of artistic processes, so that it becomes inevitable to examine the commonalities and differences in image production in art and science.

Read more...

   

Science and Art - Separate or Common Worlds?

The cooperation with researchers promises access to the complex knowledge without which art, too, no longer understands the world. However, scientification is frequently no longer a utopia but has become a requirement, e.g. when art academies have to submit to the efficiency standards of a higher education policy geared towards applied knowledge or when interdisciplinarity becomes a catchword by promotion programs for the arts to urge artists to make themselves useful ...

Read more...

   

The Artist as Researcher, the Researcher as Artist? Scientific Methodologies - Artistic Creativity

How do researchers generate new scientific procedures and how do artists create their works? How can we reconcile the ideas of the strictly scientific metholodology of research and the creativity of the artist? Do scientists and artists have something to say to each other?

Read more...

   

Page 6 of 6

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > End >>

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Wissenschaft & Kunst

Der Dialog zwischen den Disziplinen – insbesondere zwischen den Naturwissenschaften und der Bildenden Kunst – hat seit einigen Jahren Konjunktur. Vor allem Wissenschaftseinrichtungen haben die Kunst als Medium entdeckt, über das ihr spezialisiertes Wissen einer breiten Öffentlichkeit verständlich zu vermitteln ist. Die Schering Stiftung ist jedoch weniger an der Wissenschaftskommunikation als an einem grundlegenden Dialog von Künstlern und Wissenschaftlern gelegen und hat hierzu bereits 2005 das Forum Wissenschaft und Kunst ins Leben gerufen. Dabei geht es sowohl um den Austausch von Methoden und Arbeitsweisen wie um den inhaltlichen Dialog zu gesellschaftlich relevanten Fragen.

Darüber hinaus hat die Stiftung 2009 den Projektraum für Kunst und Wissenschaft Unter den Linden eröffnet, der als Plattform für Ausstellungen, Vorträge und Workshops an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft und Kunst dient. Einen Schwerpunkt bildet dabei die Präsentation von "Kunst als Forschung".


Agnes Meyer-Brandis: Wolken-Kern-Scanner – IM TROPOSPHAEREN-LABOR

Die Wolken, ihre Entstehung und Substanz sind seit langem ein intensiv diskutiertes Thema von Kunst und Wissenschaft. Für die Künstlerin Agnes Meyer-Brandis war es daher eine einmalige Gelegenheit, vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) zu einem der primär Wissenschaftszwecken vorbehaltenen Parabelflüge eingeladen zu sein und in temporärer Schwerelosigkeit an ihrem Kunstprojekt „Wolken-Kern-Scanner“ arbeiten zu dürfen. Am 14. Januar 2010 um 19 Uhr eröffnet nun die Ausstellung zu ihrem Projekt „Wolken-Kern-Scanner: IM TROPOSPHAEREN-LABOR“ in der Schering Stiftung. Die Ausstellung wird von einem vierteiligen wissenschaftlichen Vortragsprogramm zur Aerosolforschung begleitet.

_MG_8360_Website

 

Wolken-Kern-Scanner

Weiterlesen...

   

Lichtblitze und Gehirnwellen: Neurofeedback aus künstlerischer und neurologischer Sicht

Das 6. Forum Wissenschaft und Kunst steht ganz im Zeichen von Carsten Nicolais Installation rota, die seit dem 2. Juli 2009 im Projektraum der Stiftung präsentiert wird. Dr. Ute Strehl vom Institut für Medizinische Psychologie und Verhaltensneurobiologie der Universität Tübingen geht der Frage nach, was die Wissenschaft über Auswirkungen des Flickereffekts auf das menschliche Gehirn weiß, welche Rolle Neurofeedbacks bereits jetzt in der Therapie von Krankheiten wie Epilepsie und AHDS spielen und wo zukünftige Anwendungsfelder liegen könnten, etwa beim Locked-in-Syndrom. Carsten Nicolai stellt seine künstlerische Arbeitsweise am Beispiel von rota vor.

Carsten Nicolai Web.jpg

Weiterlesen...

   

Symposium „Neuroscience and Art“ in der Peggy Guggenheim Collection

Die Association of Neuroesthetics veranstaltet in Kooperation mit der Marino Golinelli Foundation und der Schering Stiftung ein Symposium mit dem Thema der diesjährigen 53. Internationalen Kunstausstellung „Fare Mondi/ Making Worlds“ in der Peggy Guggenheim Collection, Venedig. 25 eingeladene internationale Künstlerinnen und Künstler sowie Neurowissenschaftlerinnen und Neurowissenschaftler diskutieren darüber, wie unser Gehirn aktiv „Welten gestaltet“.

Weiterlesen...

   

Kooperation am Scheideweg? Zu Chancen und Risiken fragen Sie Ihren Künstler oder Wissenschaftler.

Kunst und Wissenschaft sind seit jeher durch eine ebenso spannungsvolle wie produktive Beziehungsgeschichte verbunden. Das ‚Forum Wissenschaft und Kunst’ der Schering Stiftung richtet seit 2005 seinen Fokus auf die gegenwärtige Entwicklung dieses Wechselverhältnisses. Mit einem Status-Workshop sollte nun nach dreijähriger disziplinenübergreifender Auseinandersetzung mit diesem Thema eine möglichst konzise Beschreibung der gegenwärtigen Situation erfolgen. Auf Einladung der Schering Stiftung kamen am 08.12. und 09.12.2008 35 Naturwissenschaftler, Kuratoren, Künstler und kulturwissenschaftlich orientierte Kunsthistoriker in Berlin zusammen, um sich den Herausforderungen einer verstärkten Kollaboration von Wissenschaft und Kunst stellen.

27web.jpg


Weiterlesen...

   

Der Blick in die Natur: Kunst und Wissenschaft in Kooperation und Divergenz

Das 5. Forum Wissenschaft und Kunst widmet sich der jungen Wissenschaftsdisziplin Bionik. Der Blick auf die Natur zielt hier auf das Entdecken von Strukturen und Vorgehensweisen der belebten Natur, die in der Folge gezielt für die Lösung technischer Probleme in den Bereichen der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften, aber auch der Architektur und des Designs zur Anwendung gelangen können. Dabei steht die systematische Suche und Übertragung von geeigneten Struktur- oder Organisationsprinzipien der belebten Natur in technische Artefakte im Zentrum des Interesses. Auch für die Kunst stellt Natur nach wie vor eine zentrale Kategorie dar, allerdings nicht als nachzuahmendes Vorbild, sondern als Inspirationsquelle.

_MG_5863_Website.jpg

Weiterlesen...

   

Laboratorien der Kunst und Wissenschaft. Methodologisches Arbeiten im künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Kontext

Künstler haben sich wohl schon immer für das methodische Vorgehen der Wissenschaftler interessiert. Seit Beginn der neunziger Jahre lässt sich jedoch beobachten, dass Künstler Methoden aus der naturwissenschaftlichen Forschung verstärkt adaptieren. Durch die Zuwendung zu Inhalten und Methoden anderer Disziplinen und Kontexte begeben sich Künstler immer häufiger auf fremdes Terrain, dessen Regeln dem künstlerischen Vorgehen oftmals entgegenstehen.

Tolaas_Atelier.jpg

Weiterlesen...

   

Künstler als Forscher, Forscher als Künstler? Wissenschaftliche Methodik - künstlerische Kreativität

Wie gehen Forscher an das Erzeugen neuer wissenschaftlicher Verfahren heran und wie lassen Künstler ihre Werke entstehen? Wie sind die Vorstellungen von der streng wissenschaftlichen Methodik der Forschung und der schöpferischen Kreativität des Künstlers in Einklang zu bringen? Haben sich Wissenschaftler und Künstler etwas zu sagen?

Weiterlesen...

   

Wissenschaft und Kunst - getrennte oder vereinte Welten?

Zwar verspricht die Kooperation mit Forschern den Zugang zu jenen komplexen Wissensbeständen, ohne die auch die Kunst die Welt nicht mehr versteht. Häufig aber ist die Verwissenschaftlichung inzwischen von einer Utopie zum Pflichtprogramm geworden, wenn etwa die Kunstakademien sich an den Effizienzmaßstäben einer anwendungsorientierten Hochschulpolitik messen lassen müssen oder wenn Interdisziplinarität zum Schlagwort wird, mit dem eine bildungsbedachte Kulturförderung die Künstler ermahnt, sich nützlich zu machen...

Weiterlesen...

   

Das Bild in Wissenschaft und Kunst - Abbild oder Konstruktion?

Bis heute gelten Künstler als Experten des Visuellen, auch wenn viele Kunstströmungen des 20. Jahrhunderts sich um den Ausstieg aus dem Bild bemühten oder das Visuelle durch Konzepte ersetzten. Dennoch erinnern heutige bildgebende Verfahren aus der Wissenschaft oftmals an künstlerische Prozesse, so dass sich unweigerlich die Frage nach den Gemeinsamkeiten bzw. Unterschieden der Bildproduktion in der Kunst und in der Wissenschaft stellt.

Weiterlesen...

   

Seite 6 von 6

<< Start < Zurück 1 2 3 4 5 6 Weiter > Ende >>

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr