Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Retrospect

Lecture: 40 Years of Uranium Mining in the Ore Mountains - The Mammoth Project of Remediating a Region

11.05.2016, Berlin | Germany’s nuclear power plant operators are to pay 23.3 billion euro into a state-administered fund for the interim and final storage of nuclear waste. This compromise was mediated by the Commission on Funding Nuclear Decommissioning. But will this make the financial risks to the German taxpayers manageable? If we look at the remediation of the so-called Wismut region in Saxony and Thuringia, where SAG/SDAG Wismut, from 1946 until 1990, extensively mined the highly radioactive uranium-rich pitchblende, the dimensions of the disposal of nuclear waste become clearer. Until 2045, the federal government will provide some 8 billion euro for the remediation of 1,500 kilometers of open mine workings, 311 million cubic meters of overburden material, und 160 million cubic meters of radioactive tailings. On May 26, 2016, geologist Prof. Dr. Georg Büchel from the Friedrich Schiller University in Jena will provide insight into this huge environmental restoration project during a lecture at the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Georg Büchel

Read more...

   

Artist Talk and Book Launch - Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende)

June 3, 2016, 2–3:30 p.m.

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34, 10117 Berlin

Please register at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it (by May 30, 2016, seats are limited).

On June 3, 2016, 2–3:30 p.m., the Ernst Schering Foundation presents P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife, an artist’s book by Susanne Kriemann as part of her exhibition Pechblende (Chapter 1) at the Ernst Schering Foundation. The Berlin-based artist will be joined in conversation by artist and publisher Banu Cennetoğlu (Berlin/Istanbul) and discuss her new book in the context of (artists’) books, archives and collections and their function as both recording/storage media and instruments to disseminate information.

Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Chapter 1) © Schering Stiftung

Read more...

   

Pechblende (Chapter 1)

Exhibition Opening:
Thursday, March 17, 2016, 7 – 9 p.m.

Exhibition dates: March 18 – June 5, 2016
Opening Hours: Thursday through Monday, 1–7 p.m.

Ernst Schering Foundation
Unter den Linden 32–34 | 10117 Berlin

The Ernst Schering Foundation is pleased to present the new work Pechblende (Chapter 1) by Susanne Kriemann. Centered on the mineral pitchblende (uraninite), the exhibition of the Berlin-based artist narrates the history of scientific and photographic processes through the interconnected sites of laboratory, archive, museum, and mine.

pdf Invitation Card

© Susanne Kriemann: Pech&blende

Read more...

   

Public Lecture: Brain, Consciousness, and Artistic Experience

04.01.2016, Berlin | On January 20, 2016, at 6 p.m., the Ernst Schering Foundation presents a lecture evening with Prof. Dr. John-Dylan Haynes on the topic of “Brain, Consciousness, and Artistic Experience.” The Berlin-based brain researcher will explain how mental states can be decoded from brain activity in humans. He will discuss the possibilities of synchronizing brain activity by external rhythms and how brain activity is linked to aesthetic experience.

Due to the overwhelming request for participation accreditation has already been closed!

John-Dylan Haynes

Read more...

   

Jeroen Vandesande: CIRCUIT - Feedback Studies

Exhibition duration: September 10 - October 24, 2015

The project CIRCUIT – Feedback Studies by singuhr – projects featuring the young Belgian sound and media artist Jeroen Vandesande is both a “classic” installation exhibition as well as an artistic research project on the topic of feedback in contemporary art. The project, which is supported by the Schering Stiftung, was launched on July 6 with a two-month residency, during which Vandesande developed a new sound installation directly in and for the Project Space of the Schering Stiftung.

Over the course of the last few years feedback has become an integral part of the artistic work of Vandesande. In a series of radio and loudspeaker works, performances and installations, Vandesande experimented with a variety of feedback phenomena, investigating both historical and current processes of feedback generation and control. The project “CIRCUIT – Feedback Studies” sums up his different approaches.

Jeroen Vandesande: CIRCUIT - Feedback Studies

Read more...

   

SMOKING MIRROR

Exhibition "Smoking Mirror" in the frame of the group exhibition "MIRROR IMAGES" at Berliner Medizinhistorisches Museum der Charité

Both exhibitions are curated by Alessandra Pace.

Artists: Otavio Schipper/Sergio Krakowski

Exhibition dates: November 13, 2015 – January 23, 2016

Ernst Schering Foundation
Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin
Daily (except Tuesdays and Sundays) 12–7 p.m.
Free Admission

Kindly supported by the Young Academy of the Berlin Akademie der Künste – Otavio Schipper is Berlin fellow 2015.
The artists would like to acknowledge the support of Harvestworks Laboratory and Cyro Baptista for the recording of the audio material presented in this work.

SMOKING MIRROR

Read more...

   

Kerstin Ergenzinger: Acts of Orientation

Exhibition duration: May 29 – June 27, 2015

pdf Invitatoin as pdf

Kerstin Ergenzinger’s space-related sound installation Navigating Noise is a poetic exploration of how to orient oneself in space with the aid of sound. The installation is an experimental, interactive sonic architecture through which visitors move freely, navigating its sounds and noises. This leads to subtle shifts in the perception of space.

 

Navigating Noise is at the center of the explorations of Acts of Orientation, an interdisciplinary research project by artist Kerstin Ergenzinger, physicist Thomas Laepple, and curator Nathanja van Dijk. The project aims to investigate forms of orientation in our technologized world from a spatial-physical as well as natural science and humanities perspective. The exhibition will be accompanied by a seminar and a lecture in cooperation with the research group »Analog Storage Media« in the Cluster of Excellence Image Knowledge Gestaltung at Berlin’s Humboldt University.

Kerstin Ergenzinger: Acts of Orientation

Read more...

   

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen: assemble | standard | minimal

Exhibition opening: January 22, 2015, 7 – 9 p.m.

Duration: January 23 – May 3, 2015

pdf Invitation as pdf

Revital Cohen and Tuur Van Balen translate our times of automated and standardized production technologies, into performative installations, provocative objects, and subtly aestheticized documentary films. While the biological sciences shift their focus from analysis to synthesis, adopting a language of engineering that focuses less on living beings than on components, circuits and systems, the artists examine our changing values. Their new work Sterile revolves around albino goldfish designed to be born without reproductive organs, presented alongside a machine – put in stand-by mode – capable of reproducing sterile fish to demand from pre-extracted sperm and eggs. In 75 Watt and Pigeon d’Or, human and animal organisms are being used in highly controlled (dys)functional processes.

© Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

 

assemble_standard_minimal Sensei Ichi-go

Read more...

   

Emptiness, Silence, “Nothingness” in Works of Art

Wednesday, September 3, 2014, 6:30 p.m.
„Die Leere, das Schweigen, das ‚Nichtsʻ in Kunstwerken“ (Emptiness, Silence,  “Nothingness” in Works of Art) – in German
Prof. Dr. Christina Weiss | Former Federal Minister of State for Culture and Media Affairs

On September 3, 2014, the Ernst Schering Foundation organizes a lecture evening as part of the exhibition “Small Survey on Nothingness” by Christoph Keller with Prof. Dr. Christina Weiss on “Emptiness, Silence,  ‘Nothingness’ in Works of Art”.

The lecture and the exhibition are free and open to the public. Due to limited capacity, please register at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Christina Weiss

Read more...

   

About the 'Nothingness' in Medicine and the Arts

30.07.2014, Berlin | In August and September 2014, the Ernst Schering Foundation organizes two lecture evenings as part of the exhibition “Small Survey on Nothingness” by Christoph Keller, which is on display at the Foundation’s Project Space until October 4, 2014.

In Small Survey on Nothingness, the artist Christoph Keller investigates the relationship of nothingness to the ambivalent medium of ether in the context of art and science. While ether has been investigated by scientists as a medium for the transmission of light since the late seventeenth century, in philosophy it represents the absence of absence – that is, the impossibility to think nothingness or absolute emptiness.

Christoph Keller, Small Survey on Nothingness

Read more...

   

Page 2 of 5

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next > End >>

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

SS_PP_190x190px2

 

Rückschau

Künstlergespräch und Buchpräsentation - Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende)

20.05.2016, Berlin | Am 3. Juni 2016, 14 – 15.30 Uhr, präsentiert die Schering Stiftung das Künstlerbuch P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife von Susanne Kriemann. Die in Berlin lebende Künstlerin wird im Gespräch mit der Künstlerin und Verlegerin Banu Cennetoğlu (Berlin/Istanbul) das neu erschienene Buch im Rahmen der Ausstellung Pechblende (Kapitel 1) in der Schering Stiftung in den Kontext von (Künstler-) Büchern, Archiven und Sammlungen und deren Funktion als Erfassungs- und Speichermedien sowie als Instrumente der Informationsverbreitung stellen.

Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Kapitel 1), © Schering Stiftung

Weiterlesen...

   

Vortrag: 40 Jahre Uranerzabbau im Erzgebirge - Sanierung einer Region als Jahrhundertaufgabe

11.05.2016, Berlin | 23,3 Mrd. Euro sollen die Betreiber der deutschen Atomkraftwerke als Rücklagen für die Zwischen- und Endlagerung des Atommülls an einen öffentlich-rechtlichen Fonds überweisen. Diesen Kompromiss konnte die Kommission zur Überprüfung der Finanzierung des Atomausstiegs Ende April erwirken. Doch ist das finanzielle Risiko für den deutschen Steuerzahler damit beherrschbar? Blickt man auf die Sanierung des sogenannten Wismut-Gebietes in Sachsen und Thüringen, in dem zwischen 1946 und 1990 die hoch radioaktiv strahlende, uranhaltige Pechblende durch die SAG/SDAG Wismut großflächig abgebaut wurde, werden die Dimensionen, die radioaktiver Müll durch seine Entsorgung erzeugt, klarer. Allein für die Sanierung von 1.500 km offenem Grubenbau, 311 Mio. m³ Haldenmaterial und 160 Mio. m³ radioaktiven Schlämmen stellt der Bund bis 2045 ca. 8 Mrd. Euro bereit. Der Geologe Prof. Dr. Georg Büchel von der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena gibt am 26. Mai 2016 in der Schering Stiftung Einblicke in dieses umfangreiche Sanierungsprojekt.

Georg Büchel

Interview mit Georg Büchel zum Vortragsthema im kulturradio des rbb, 25.05.2016

Weiterlesen...

   

Künstlergespräch und Buchpräsentation - Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende)

3. Juni 2016, 14 - 15.30 Uhr

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34, 10117 Berlin

Um Anmeldung wird gebeten unter Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. (bis 30.05.2016, begrenzte Platzkapazität).

Am 3. Juni 2016, 14 Uhr, präsentiert die Schering Stiftung das Künstlerbuch P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife von Susanne Kriemann. Die in Berlin lebende Künstlerin wird im Gespräch mit der Künstlerin und Verlegerin Banu Cennetoğlu (Berlin/Istanbul) das neu erschienene Buch im Rahmen der Ausstellung Pechblende (Kapitel 1) in der Schering Stiftung in den Kontext von (Künstler-) Büchern, Archiven und Sammlungen und deren Funktion als Erfassungs- und Speichermedien sowie als Instrumente der Informationsverbreitung stellen.

Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Kapitel 1) © Schering Stiftung

Weiterlesen...

   

Pechblende (Kapitel 1)

Ausstellungseröffnung:
Donnerstag, 17. März 2016, 19–21 Uhr

Laufzeit: 18.3. – 5.6.2016
Öffnungszeiten: Donnerstag bis Montag, 13–19 Uhr 

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34 | 10117 Berlin

Die Schering Stiftung präsentiert die neue Arbeit Pechblende (Kapitel 1) von Susanne Kriemann, in der die in Berlin lebende Künstlerin – ausgehend vom Mineral Pechblende (Uraninit) – die Geschichte wissenschaftlicher und fotografischer Prozesse anhand der miteinander verwobenen Schauplätze Labor, Archiv, Museum und Bergwerk erzählt.

pdf Einladungskarte

© Susanne Kriemann: Pech&blende

Weiterlesen...

   

Öffentlicher Vortrag: Gehirn, Bewusstsein und künstlerische Erfahrung

04.01.2016, Berlin | Am 20. Januar 2016, um 18:00 Uhr, veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung einen Vortragsabend mit Prof. Dr. John-Dylan Haynes zum Thema „Gehirn, Bewusstsein und künstlerische Erfahrung“. Der Berliner Hirnforscher erklärt, wie mentale Zustände aus der Hirnaktivität ausgelesen werden können, welche Möglichkeiten es gibt, die Hirnaktivität mittels externer Rhythmen zu synchronisieren und welche Zusammenhänge bestehen zwischen Gehirntätigkeit und ästhetischer Erfahrung.

Aufgrund der großen Nachfrage können wir leider keine Anmeldungen mehr entgegennehmen!

John-Dylan Haynes

Weiterlesen...

   

Jeroen Vandesande: CIRCUIT - Feedback Studies

Laufzeit: 10.09. - 24.10.2015

Das Projekt CIRCUIT – Feedback Studies von singuhr – projekte mit dem jungen belgischen Klangkünstler Jeroen Vandesande ist sowohl eine „klassische“ installative Ausstellung als auch ein künstlerisches Forschungsprojekt zum Thema Feedback in der aktuellen Kunst. Das von der Schering Stiftung geförderte Projekt startete am 6. Juli mit einer zweimonatigen Residenz, in der Vandesande eine neue Klanginstallation direkt im und für den Projektraum der Schering Stiftung entwickelt hat.

Feedbacks bilden seit einigen Jahren einen Schwerpunkt in den Werken Vandesandes. In einer Reihe von Radio- und Lautsprecherarbeiten, Performances und Installationen hat Vandesande mit unterschiedlichen Feedbackphänomenen experimentiert und dabei sowohl historische als auch aktuelle Verfahren der Feedbackerzeugung und -steuerung untersucht. Das Projekt „CIRCUIT – Feedback Studies“
fasst die verschiedenen Ansätze nun zusammen.

Jeroen Vandesande: CIRCUIT - Feedback Studies

 

Weiterlesen...

   

SMOKING MIRROR

Ausstellung "SMOKING MIRROR" im Rahmen der Gruppenausstellung "MIRROR IMAGES" im Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museum der Charité

Beide Ausstellungen werden von Alessandra Pace kuratiert.

Künstler: Otavio Schipper/Sergio Krakowski

Laufzeit: 13. November 2015 – 23. Januar 2016

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin
Täglich (außer Di und So) 12–19 Uhr.
Eintritt frei

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch die Junge Akademie der Akademie der Künste, Berlin – Otavio Schipper ist Berlin-Stipendiat 2015.
Die Künstler danken Harvestworks Laboratory und Cyro Baptista für die Unterstützung bei der Aufnahme des Audiomaterials, das in dieser Arbeit präsentiert wird.

SMOKING MIRROR

Weiterlesen...

   

Kerstin Ergenzinger: Acts of Orientation

Laufzeit: 29. Mai bis 27. Juni 2015

pdf Einladung als pdf

Kerstin Ergenzingers Raumklanginstallation Navigating Noise erkundet poetisch, wie man sich mit Hilfe von Klang im Raum orientiert. Die Installation ist eine experimentelle, interaktive Klangarchitektur, durch die sich der Besucher frei bewegt und deren Klang er navigiert. Dabei wird die Raumwahrnehmung auf subtile Weise verschoben.

Navigating Noise steht im Zentrum der Untersuchungen von Acts of Orientation, einem interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekt der Künstlerin Kerstin Ergenzinger, dem Physiker Thomas Laepple und der Kuratorin Nathanja van Dijk. Es hinterfragt Formen der Orientierung in unserer technologisierten Welt aus räumlich-körperlicher sowie natur- und geisteswissenschaftlicher Perspektive. Neben der Ausstellung finden ein Seminar und ein Vortrag in Kooperation mit der Forschungsgruppe »Analogspeicher« im Exzellenzcluster Bild Wissen Gestaltung der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin statt.

Kerstin Ergenzinger: Acts of Orientation

Weiterlesen...

   

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen: assemble | standard | minimal

Ausstellungsdauer: 23. Januar bis 3. Mai 2015

pdf Einladung als pdf

Revital Cohen und Tuur Van Balen übersetzen unser Zeitalter der automatisierten und standardisierten Produktionstechnologien in performative Installationen, provokative Objekte und subtil ästhetisierte Dokumentarfilme. Wird in der Biologie heute nicht mehr nur analysiert, sondern zunehmend synthetisiert, und weniger von Lebewesen als von Komponenten, Schaltkreisen und Systemen gesprochen, so untersuchen die Künstler unsere sich damit verändernden Wertvorstellungen. Ihre neue Arbeit Sterile zeigt designte Albino-Goldfische ohne Fortpflanzungsorgane neben einer Maschine im Stand-by-Modus, die aus zuvor extrahierten Eizellen und Sperma sterile Fische beliebig reproduzieren kann. In ihren Arbeiten 75 Watt und Pigeon d’Or werden menschliche und tierische Organismen in den Dienst hochkontrollierter (dys)funktionaler Prozesse gestellt.

© Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

 

assemble_standard_minimal Sensei Ichi-go

Weiterlesen...

   

Die Leere, das Schweigen, das 'Nichts' in Kunstwerken.

Mittwoch, 03.09.2014, 18:30 Uhr
"Die Leere, das Schweigen, das 'Nichts' in Kunstwerken"
Prof. Dr. Christina Weiss | Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien a.D.

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin

Am 3. September 2014 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung im Rahmen der Ausstellung „Small Survey on Nothingness“ von Christoph Keller einen Vortragsabend mit Prof. Dr. Christina Weiss zum Thema "Die Leere, das Schweigen, das 'Nichts' in Kunstwerken".

Der Vortrag und der Besuch der Ausstellung sind kostenlos und richten sich an die interessierte Öffentlichkeit. Aufgrund begrenzter Platzzahl bitten wir um Anmeldung unter Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. .

Christina Weiss

Weiterlesen...

   

Seite 2 von 5

<< Start < Zurück 1 2 3 4 5 Weiter > Ende >>

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Workshop „Synthetische Biologie – ein Blick in die Zukunft“

05.02.2018, Berlin | Interessieren Sie sich für Wissenschaft und die Zukunft der Gesellschaft? Haben Sie ein...
mehr

Wohin mit der Demokratie?

02.02. 2018, Berlin | Was meinen wir eigentlich, wenn wir vom „Ende der Demokratie“ sprechen? Welche...
mehr

Digitalisierte Kindheit – Je früher, desto besser?

26.01.2018, Berlin | Ganz gleich ob Smartphone, Tablet, Computer oder Spielkonsole – Kinder sind immer früher...
mehr