Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale


Friedmund Neumann Prize

On the occasion of its 10th anniversary, the Ernst Schering Foundation, Berlin, in 2012 established the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for outstanding basic research in human biology, organic chemistry or human medicine. The prize is directed at young scientists who have completed their dissertation and have already developed a distinctive scientific profile. The award aims to make visible excellent scientific achievement and thus help the prize winners establish themselves in their field of research. It carries a prize money of € 10,000 and is not given for a specific purpose. It is not possible to nominate oneself for the award.

The prize is dedicated to the memory of Prof. Dr. vet. med. Friedmund Neumann (1935-2007) in honor of his groundbreaking research on modern gestagens and his commitment to promoting young scientists.

Call for Nominations Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

The nomination dealine for the Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018 has expired.

pdf Nomination criteria & nomination procedure

pdf Guidance on criteria_dissertation within the last 6 years

pdf Nomination form

The prize winner will be selected by mid-April 2018.

Friedmund Neumann Preis



Appreciation of his work


Friedmund Neumann Prize 2017

Dr. Ivana Nikić-Spiegel

Group Leader at the Werner Reichardt Centre for Integrative Neuroscience of the University of Tübingen

for her outstanding work on neuroinflammation




Friedmund Neumann Prize 2016

Prof. Dr. Barbara Treutlein

Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig

for her outstanding work on single cell transcriptomics analysis




Friedmund Neumann Prize 2015

Dr. Nina Henriette Uhlenhaut

Helmholtz Zentrum München – German Research Center for Environmental Health

for her outstanding research on the molecular genetic mechanisms of endocrinological and metabolic diseases

Dr. Nina Henriette Uhlenhaut



Friedmund Neumann Prize 2014

Dr. Maja Köhn

European Molecular Biology Laboratory
(EMBL), Heidelberg
for her outstanding work in the field of phosphatase research and for her interdisciplinary approach, combining basic research in chemistry and biology to address questions relevant to medicine.



Friedmund Neumann Prize 2013

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Zeissig

Department of Internal Medicine I at the University Medical Center Schleswig-Holstein

for his outstanding contributions to our understanding of the molecular and immunological mechanisms of inflammatory gastro-intestinal diseases

Sebastian Zeissig



Friedmund Neumann Prize 2012

PD Dr. Sylvia Mechsner

Department of Gynecology at the Charité University Hospital in Berlin

for her outstanding work on the pathogenesis of endometriosis

Friedmund Neumann Preis 2012